Utah Auto Insurance [Rates + Cheap Coverage Guide]
Utah requires a minimum of 25/65/15 for bodily injury and property damage coverage. Kearns has the highest average rates at $370.60 per month.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Apr 29, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
|Utah Statistics Summary||Details|
|Road Miles||Total in State: 46,153
Vehicle Miles Driven: 27,554
|State Population||Estimated: 3,161,105|
|Most Popular Vehicle||Ford F150|
State Rank: 39
|Driving Fatalities||Speeding: 78
|Average Annual Premiums||Liability: $497.53
Full Coverage: $872.93
We get it.
Life gets crazy. Sometimes, it feels like you barely have a moment to just sit down and breathe at the end of each day. Finding the right auto insurance company might be the last thing on your mind.
But, it shouldn’t be.
If you’re one of the over three million individuals currently residing in the state of Utah, finding the Utah auto insurance company that will offer you the policy rates you’re looking for at the rates you require is one of the most significant choices you’ll make in your driving life.
That, coupled with the fact that approximately 8.2 percent of all drivers in the state of Utah are hitting the road without auto insurance, makes securing the right coverages more critical than ever.
When it comes to choosing Utah auto insurance, the array of carriers and policy choices can seem overwhelming. It’s hard to know which providers really live up to consumer expectations and which ones fail to hit the mark.
If you’re tired of spinning your wheels searching for Utah auto insurance companies, you’ve come to the right place.
Whether your Utah auto insurance policy period is almost up, you’re searching for your own coverage for the very first time, or you’ve recently moved to Utah and need to switch carriers, this definitive guide is for you.
For everything Utah drivers need to know about auto insurance coverage and rates, the top carriers, driving laws, and more keep reading.
First, simplify your search for Utah auto insurance carriers by securing your quote for multiple providers in one place. Get your FREE quote with our online rate calculator. Enter your ZIP code to get started!
Alright folks, are you ready? Let’s dive right in!
Utah Auto Insurance Coverage and Rates
Utah is a state of contrasts, with great outdoor beauty that nature lovers can revel in coupled with built-up landscapes full of industry and local culture. From the beautiful Great Salt Lake to the jaw-dropping Red Canyon to the Wasatch Mountain Range with its lush, snowcapped peaks, the stunning terrain of Utah is truly a wonder to behold.
Utah is home to seven national monuments, five national parks, 43 state parks, and five national forests. These important landmarks, coupled with Utah’s 22.8 million acres of public land, comprise approximately 42 percent of the entire state.
Cities in Northern Utah like Salt Lake City and Provo are known for their fantastic dining and live music experiences in the midst of the natural mountainous beauty of these regions. Utah’s famous Great Salt Lake contains around four times more salt than any ocean across the globe!
Besides Nevada, Utah comes in second as the driest state in the country. Utah residents enjoy approximately 300 days of sun per year.
Despite its population of nearly three million according to the most recent census, Utah is one of the most sparsely populated states in the entire U.S. In fact, the vast majority of Utah residents live in cities and towns around the Wasatch Front in the western region of the Wasatch Mountain Range.
Nicknamed the Beehive State to symbolize residents’ industry and hard work, Utah certainly has no shortage of sights and sounds to enjoy.
Regardless whether you’ve recently moved to The Beehive State, are contemplating a relocation, or have lived in Utah all your life, it’s key to understand the car culture and minimum coverages required in your state before you hit the road.
Let’s dig deeper!
Utah Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per person
$65,000 per accident
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$15,000 minimum|
|Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage||$3,000 minimum|
The table and chart above details the minimum coverage for auto insurance in Utah drivers must maintain under current state law. Let’s take a closer look at what these mean for you:
- 25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person: to cover the costs of injuries incurred by an individual due to a collision you cause
- $65,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident: to cover the total costs of bodily injuries incurred by more than one individual due to a collision you cause
- $15,000 property damage liability coverage: to cover property damage incurred by other parties due to a collision you cause
- $3,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage: to cover the costs of medical expenses and other losses you incur as the result of an accident, regardless of who is at fault
Utah is one of a handful of states that adhere to the “no-fault” system. What this means, is that if you get into an accident, your PIP coverage will pay for any losses you incur because of medical bills and other related expenses up to and until your policy limits are exhausted. You must turn to your PIP to cover these types of expenses, whether you caused the accident or not.
The no-fault system does not apply to property damage claims. If your car sustains property damage due to an accident for which you were not responsible, you can still pursue a vehicle claim against the offending party.
Drivers must maintain no-fault insurance if:
- The owner/operator of the vehicle is a resident of Utah
- The owner/operator of the vehicle does not reside in Utah but operates a car that has been physically in the state for 90 days out of the previous 365 (in this case a non-resident vehicle owner is only required to maintain the no-fault insurance as long as the vehicle is in the state)
This also means that due to the no-fault system Utah adheres to, you won’t be able to file a claim against the at-fault party for monetary damages or pain and suffering you incurred from an accident unless you meet a certain threshold.
If you get into an auto accident for which you are not responsible, and wish to go outside of Utah’s no-fault system, you must meet the following thresholds:
- You must have sustained at least $3,000 worth of medical expenses due to the collision, OR
- You must have suffered a qualifying injury, being dismemberment, permanent disfigurement, permanent impairment, or permanent disability
If you sustained injuries that meet one or both of the aforementioned criteria, you would be able to step beyond the no-fault PIP coverage on your policy to pursue a claim against the at-fault driver.
The video below explains in further detail what you should do if you ever get into an auto accident in the state of Utah.
It is important to note, that if you are ever involved in a collision in the state of Utah for which you are responsible, and the injured party or parties incur damages that exceed your coverage limits, your personal assets could be on the line.
It is strongly advised to consider purchasing Utah auto insurance coverage above the state-required minimums to ensure your assets are secured.
Now it’s time to take a look at the primary forms of financial responsibility in The Beehive State. Let’s go!
Forms of Financial Responsibility in Utah
If you get into an auto accident in the state of Utah, you must be prepared to present proof of financial responsibility (or proof of insurance) to a responding officer at the scene.
According to the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles, you must carry proof of insurance with you when behind the wheel and be prepared to show it to a law enforcement officer if requested.
Acceptable forms of financial responsibility include:
- Your insurer-issued proof of insurance card
- Proof of insurance in electronic format on your mobile device
Utah maintains a database known as the Utah Online Insurance Verification System, which compares car registration against listed insurance policies written to residents of the state. If the program notes that the vehicle registered does not match with a current insurance policy, the uninsured driver will receive a letter requesting proof of insurance.
If you do not offer sufficient proof of insurance upon receiving such a letter, local law enforcement and the Utah DMV will be put on alert. If you are convicted by the Department of Public Safety or by the courts of driving a vehicle without insurance, the DMV has the power to suspend your vehicle registration.
Failure to provide proof of financial responsibility is categorized as a Class B misdemeanor, with fines ranging from $400 for first-time offenders to $1,000 for second and additional offenses during the three years following a prior conviction or forfeiture of bail.
In addition, if you are convicted of failing to maintain proper Utah auto insurance on your vehicle, the Utah Department of Public Safety will suspend your driver’s license.
The Utah DPS is not permitted to renew or issue you a new license until you can provide proof of financial responsibility and satisfy the reinstatement fee. Upon receiving both these items, the Utah DPS will notify the Utah DMV.
In order to have your license reinstated, you must:
- Present proof of ownership of the vehicle, such as the car’s registration card or title
- Provide a picture ID
- Provide proof of financial responsibility in the form of current SR-22 auto insurance from a licensed Utah provider or agent, insurance binder, insurance policy, insurance card, or insurance declarations page
- Pay the $100 fee for reinstatement
Furthermore, drivers who have gone through the process of revocation and reinstatement for failure to provide proof of financial responsibility require ongoing supervision for a period of three years following the offense.
Your new insurance company will be required to notify the Utah DPS if your coverage is terminated at any point. If you have been convicted of the previously noted offenses and terminate your policy, you will be required to turn over your license to the Utah DPS.
If you cancel your policy and apply for a new license within three years following the date in which the state-required proof of financial responsibility, you must provide the DPS proof of insurance before they will reissue your license. The DPS will maintain the proof of financial responsibility until the three year period is up.
There are a number of alternative forms of financial responsibility you could choose to provide in lieu of an insurance policy. These include:
- A certificate of deposit confirming you’ve deposited $170,000 cash with the Utah State Treasurer in the event you are responsible for a collision
- A surety bond for the amount of at least $80,000 provided by a licensed Utah surety company and listing the Utah DPS as the legal creditor
- A certificate of self-funded coverage, if you have more than 24 cars registered to your name and have deposited $200,000 and an additional $100 in an account for each car to be insured
In most cases, purchasing Utah auto insurance is going to be much simpler and more cost-effective than these alternative options.
Long story short, failure to maintain current Utah auto insurance coverages is a major deal. Always carry at least Utah’s minimum required coverages and keep your proof of insurance card with you at all times. That way, you’ll have nothing to worry about.
Premiums as a Percentage of Income in Utah
|Year||Full Coverage||Disposable Income||Insurance as Percentage of Income|
The table here shows the average personal incomes of residents in Utah between 2012 and 2014 in comparison with the percentage of their earnings taken up by auto insurance premiums. Your average personal income is the amount of money you have left each month after taxes are subtracted.
As you can see from the table above, the cost of Utah insurance coverage from year to year and the percentage of the average resident’s annual income it comprised didn’t change all that much during that three-year period.
Annual premiums only went up by about $50 between 2012 and 2014, while the typical resident’s disposable income rose steadily, which helped compensate for the disparity. The percentage that annual premiums were eating up of Utah workers’ disposable incomes was at its lowest in 2012, went up by .03 percent in 2013, and went back down again in 2014.
In 2014, bordering states like Wyoming showed insurance premiums comprising just 1.69 percent of the average worker’s annual income, but residents’ earnings for the year were over $16,000 more than individuals in Utah.
In 2014 in New Mexico, residents were paying approximately 2.76 percent of their annual disposable income out to cover the costs of premiums, with workers in the state earning just about the same as those in Utah.
In short, Utah’s insurance as a percentage of income ratio is in a healthy range, particularly when compared with bordering states.
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates in UT (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)
|Coverage Type||Annual Costs (2015)|
The table above reveals the most recent data our researchers gathered from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). You should expect rates to increase steadily from 2019 onward.
Additional Liability Coverage in Utah
|Personal Injury Protection (PIP)||74.22||69.28||68.56|
|Medical Payments (MedPay)||110.60||99.16||120.63|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage||86.69||76.45||73.65|
Here we have the NAIC’s most up to date data showing the average loss ratio Utah auto insurance carriers experienced in the years between 2013 and 2015. An insurer’s loss ratio is the percentage of losses they incur as compared to what they are earning back in written premiums.
If a Utah auto insurance company sees losses above 100 percent, this reveals that they are consistently paying out more in claims than they are earning back in the premiums they write. When this kind of loss pattern continues, this could mean very bad news for the insurer.
The data above reveals that Utah auto insurance companies are seeing healthy gains to losses for Personal Injury Protection. The same is true for uninsured motorist coverage. This is key, considering Utah currently ranks 39th in the nation for uninsured motorists, while 8.2 percent of all motorists in the state are hitting the road uninsured.
The Medical Payment stats are an altogether different story from the data for PIP and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. As you can see, in 2013 and 2015, carriers were experiencing a loss ratio consistently above 100 percent. The loss ratio dipped slightly under 100 percent in 2014 but skyrocketed again in 2015.
If this trend continues, carriers will need to raise premiums for MedPay to cover their losses and reach a sustainable ratio.
Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders
Check out the key Utah auto insurance add-ons you will want to consider including along with your mandated coverages:
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Rental Reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Auto Insurance
- Modified Auto Insurance
- Classic Auto Insurance
- Pay-As-You-Drive or Usage-Based Coverage
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in UT
The long-held train of thought is that male drivers always pay more in annual premiums than female drivers. Our researchers set out to discover whether this holds true for Utah auto insurance providers.
Let’s see what they discovered.
Demographic and Insurance Carrier
|Company||Married 35-year old female Annual Rate||Married 35-year old male Annual Rate||Married 60-year old female Annual Rate||Married 60-year old male Annual Rate||Single 17-year old female Annual Rate||Single 17-year old male Annual Rate||Single 25-year old female Annual Rate||Single 25-year old male Annual Rate|
|American Family Mutual||$2,061.52||$2,061.52||$1,895.69||$1,895.69||$7,447.08||$9,734.69||$2,061.52||$2,432.42|
|Mid-Century Ins Co||$2,122.25||$2,096.76||$1,874.89||$1,996.87||$9,007.70||$9,276.70||$2,403.87||$2,484.88|
|SAFECO Ins Co of IL||$2,424.16||$2,609.54||$2,009.88||$2,240.08||$9,510.32||$10,560.25||$2,555.09||$2,712.73|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$2,831.94||$2,831.94||$2,574.96||$2,574.96||$8,675.15||$10,787.39||$3,211.87||$3,678.46|
Not surprisingly, the data above shows that Utah auto insurance premiums are highest for teen drivers. Depending on the Utah auto insurance carrier, there is a fairly wide disparity between the rates assessed for teen male drivers vs. teen female drivers. Take State Farm, for example.
They charge 17-year-old male drivers approximately $2,100 more in annual premiums than female drivers of the same age.
Companies like Mid-Century Insurance Company narrow the gap significantly, only charging teen male drivers about $270 more in annual premiums than teen female drivers.
The older the driver age group is, the less disparity there typically is between what auto insurance companies charge male vs. female drivers. For example, American Family charges 35-year-old male and female drivers the exact same amount in yearly premiums.
However, if you look at the rate difference for married 35-year-old male drivers vs. single 17-year-old male drivers, you’ll see that Allstate charges the latter almost $5,800 more in annual rates!
The data reveals that auto insurance companies can affect marital status into the equation when assessing your annual premiums. The idea is that married drivers are more established and stable, thereby increasing the possibility that they adhere to safe driving habits and will present far less risk to insure.
Rank by Demographic and Insurance Carrier
|Company||Demographic||Average Annual Rate||Rank|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Single 17-year old male||$10,787.39||1|
|SAFECO Ins Co of IL||Single 17-year old male||$10,560.25||2|
|American Family Mutual||Single 17-year old male||$9,734.69||3|
|Progressive Classic||Single 17-year old male||$9,521.67||4|
|SAFECO Ins Co of IL||Single 17-year old female||$9,510.32||5|
|Mid-Century Ins Co||Single 17-year old male||$9,276.70||6|
|Mid-Century Ins Co||Single 17-year old female||$9,007.70||7|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Single 17-year old female||$8,675.15||8|
|Progressive Classic||Single 17-year old female||$8,562.83||9|
|Allstate F&C||Single 17-year old male||$7,968.85||10|
Check out the table above and use the search bar to see where your insurance carrier ranks for annual premiums charged based on the age and gender demographics. You’ll notice that State Farm ranks number one as charging the highest annual premiums to teen male drivers and USAA the lowest at number 15.
Let’s take a look at the highest and lowest rates Utah auto insurance carriers charge insureds based on their ZIP code.
Highest and Lowest Rates in Utah by ZIP Code
Use the tables below to see what Utah auto insurance companies are charging in your area.
|Most Expensive ZIP Codes in Utah||City||Average Annual Rate by ZIP Code|
|84104||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,580.22|
|84116||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,555.57|
|84128||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,451.69|
|84118||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,447.21|
|84180||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,440.15|
|84120||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,376.36|
|84119||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,359.40|
|84101||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,349.91|
|84115||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,310.49|
|84123||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,271.70|
|84121||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,267.68|
|84107||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,235.20|
|84117||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,200.92|
|84111||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,183.18|
|84133||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,171.57|
|84138||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,148.80|
|84112||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,148.07|
|84109||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,147.22|
|84103||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,118.16|
|84124||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,108.36|
|84132||SALT LAKE CITY||$4,107.90|
Most of the most expensive ZIP codes can be found in Salt Lake City.
|Cheapest ZIP Codes in Utah||City||Average Annual Rate by ZIP Codes|
Most Expensive/Least Expensive Carrier Rates by City
Use the tables below to see what the average annual rates are for your city.
|Most Expensive Cities in Utah||Average Annual Rate by City|
|West Valley City||$4,414.03|
|South Salt Lake||$4,359.40|
|Salt Lake City||$4,228.11|
You’ll notice that the size of the city or town you live in could have a domino effect on the final rates carriers assess. For example, insureds in Salt Lake City are charged almost $1,000 more per year than residents of a smaller town like Cedar City.
|Cheapest Cities in Utah||Average Annual Rate by City|
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Best Utah Auto Insurance Companies
Besides considering coverage requirements and the key factors Utah auto insurance companies use to assess your rates, there’s another huge component that should play into your final decision of which insurer to chooseâconsumer ratings!
We get it. You want to know what insureds like yourself really think of Utah auto insurance companies.
We’ve got you covered.
For the 10 largest companies’ financial ratings to the carriers with the most customer complaints, keep reading.
Let’s get down to business!
The 10 Largest Utah Auto Insurance Companies’ Financial Ratings
An insurer’s financial strength rating is a critical tool you can use when considering a Utah auto insurance company, as this rating tells you how strong an ability the carrier has to meet its financial obligations to insureds. The table below reveals the most recent ratings for the 10 largest Utah auto insurance companies as issued by AM Best.
AM Best is a global rating agency, awarding insurance companies specific ratings based on their financial strength and creditworthiness. The highest auto insurance rating AM Best awards is A++. Secondary A ratings reveal that an insurer is in an excellent position to fulfill financial obligations to insureds.
Check the table out for yourself to see where your current carrier or any insurer you’re considering ranks.
|Providers (Based on Size, From Largest to Smallest)||AM Best Rating|
|Bear River Mutual Insurance Co||A-|
Utah Auto Insurance Companies with the BEST Customer Ratings
|Companies||Ranking||J.D. Power Circle Rating™|
Utah Auto Insurance Companies with the MOST Customer Complaints
|Insurance Company||Earned Premiums||Complaint Ratio Per 100K of Earned Premiums|
|State Farm Mutual Auto Ins Co||$281,650,869||0|
|Mid-Century Ins Co||172,093,371||0.001|
|Allstate Fire & Cas Ins Co||138,969,028||0.001|
|Geico Cas Co||116,022,235||0.003|
|Bear River Mutual Ins Co||107,688,150||0|
|Progressive Direct Ins Co||78,684,909||0.191|
|Progressive Classic Ins Co||75,717,813||0.066|
|Farm Bureau Prop & Cas Ins Co||38,148,595||0|
|Auto Owners Ins Co||37,247,531||0.003|
|State Farm Fire & Cas Co||35,464,008||0.003|
|LM General Ins Co||34,919,681||0.017|
|USAA Cas Ins Co||31,220,816||0.006|
|Safeco Ins Co Of IL||29,985,870||0.003|
|Allstate Ins Co||29,621,012||0|
|American Family Mutual Ins Co||29,326,609||0.003|
|United Services Auto Assoc||28,559,840||0.004|
|Geico General Ins Co||26,974,335||0|
|Standard Fire Ins Co||21,975,601||0.009|
|Metro Group Prop & Cas Ins Co||21,546,534||0|
|United Insurance Co||20,308,034||0.098|
The table above reveals complaint data provided by the Utah Insurance Department. Bear in mind, consumer complaints are a gauge of overall insured satisfaction and should be one of many factors you incorporate into your decision-making process when selecting a Utah auto insurance carrier.
Utah Auto Insurance Rates by Company
|Company||Average||Compared to State Average||Percentage|
|American Family Mutual||$3,698.77||$96.53||2.61%|
|Mid-Century Ins Co||$3,907.99||$305.76||7.82%|
|SAFECO Ins Co of IL||$4,327.76||$725.52||16.76%|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$4,645.83||$1,043.60||22.46%|
The table and chart above show the cheapest Utah auto insurance companies in the state, revealing their rates compared to the state average. As you might have noticed, State Farm charges the highest rates and USAA the cheapest, with a rate difference of almost $2,200!
|Company||10-mile commute & 6,000 annual mileage||25-mile commute & 12,000 annual mileage|
The table here details the average annual rates Utah auto insurance companies charge consumers based on their commute. Some, but not all carriers show a noticeable rate difference for 10 vs. 25-mile commutes.
For example, companies like Allstate charge insureds the exact same rates regardless of commute, while carriers such as State Farm show well over a $200 rate difference between 10 vs. 25-mile commutes.
Commute distance is one of a handful of factors that affect your rates.
Coverage Level Rates
|Group||High Coverage Annual Average||Medium Coverage Annual Average||Low Coverage Annual Average|
This table shows how Utah auto insurance carriers assess consumer rates based on the coverage levels they purchase. Lower coverage levels could mean a driver is a higher risk to insure if they get into a collision, so this can have a significant impact on rates. On the other hand, many insurers charge higher rates for higher coverage levels.
Case in point, Farmers charges consumers with high coverage levels almost $700 more in annual premiums than insureds with low coverage levels. On the other hand, companies like Nationwide charge insureds with low coverage levels almost $400 more than individuals with high coverage levels.
So, it really all depends on the insurance carrier you pick.
Credit History Rates
Except for a few states where the law strictly forbids it, most auto insurance companies use credit score into the mix when assessing your rates. Check out the video above for a helpful explanation and take a look at the table below to see how your credit score can affect your rates based on the Utah auto insurance carrier you select.
|Group||Annual Rate with Good Credit||Annual Rate with Fair Credit||Annual Rate with Poor Credit|
It is interesting to note how the rates for poor vs. fair vs. good credit vary widely based on the Utah auto insurance company. Take State Farm, for instance. They charge consumers with poor credit approximately $5,000 more in annual premiums than individuals with good credit. That’s a massive difference!
Then, you have carriers like Progressive. As you can see, they charge insureds with poor credit less than $100 more annually when compared to consumers with good credit. It goes to show again, that the insurer you pick can be one of the most significant determiners of the rates you can expect to pay.
A recent study conducted by Experian revealed that the average Utah resident has a VantageScore of 683, with 2.95 credit cards to their name and an average balance of $5,960. That average score is a bit higher than the national average which hits right at 675.
If you have a history of poor credit, don’t lose heart. It’s never too late to start forming good credit habits that can serve you a lifetime. By paying your bill on time each month and never spending more than what you can realistically pay in a given month, you can get your credit back to a position of strength.
The good news is, not all Utah auto insurance companies charge consumers with poor credit significantly higher rates than those with excellent credit. Your credit score is just one of many factors insurance companies use to assess your rates, so it is still possible to secure affordable rates even if your credit is less than stellar.
Driving Record Rates
|Insurance Company||Clean Record||One Speeding Violation||One Accident||One DUI|
It’s probably not a surprise to you that Utah auto insurance companies use your driving record as a significant factor when determining your rates. Depending on the company you pick, the rates for a driver with a clean record vs. one accident or DUI can be noteworthy.
For instance, American Family charges insureds with one DUI on their record almost $1,500 more in annual rates than individuals with a clean record.
On the other hand, insurers like State Farm only charge about $400 more annually to insureds with one DUI vs. a clean record, with the real rate spike coming for consumers with one accident on their record. In that case, the rate difference between consumers with a clean record vs. one accident is almost $850!
Let’s take a look at the 10 largest auto insurance companies in the state of Utah, based on direct premiums written and their share of the state’s insurance market.
The 10 Largest Auto Insurance Companies in Utah
|Company||Direct Premiums Written||Loss Ratio||Market Share|
|State Farm Group||$323,026||64.11%||16.71%|
|Allstate Insurance Group||$217,324||57.30%||11.24%|
|Farmers Insurance Group||$183,973||54.43%||9.52%|
|Bear River Mutual Insurance Co||$117,031||81.12%||6.05%|
|American Family Insurance Group||$87,583||82.77%||4.53%|
|Liberty Mutual Group||$86,034||66.67%||4.45%|
|Nationwide Corp Group||$52,126||70.19%||2.70%|
Number of Auto Insurance Providers in Utah
|Property & Casualty Insurance||Totals|
Driving Laws in Utah
You’ve made it this far! Now that you have a more in-depth understanding of the factors Utah auto insurance carriers use to determine your rates, it’s time to delve into driving laws in the state to help you stay safe and secure when you hit the road.
Let’s dive right in!
Utah’s Auto Insurance Laws
In the state of Utah, it is illegal to text while driving. You are permitted to talk on the phone while operating a motor vehicle, but you may not physically use the device while driving (such as to dial a phone number) under Utah Code 41-6a-1716.
In Utah, the minimum driving age is 16. Drivers are required to maintain a valid license, and drivers from out of the state or country are permitted to operate a motor vehicle in Utah provided they have a current license and are a minimum of 16 years of age.
Let’s take a closer like at Utah auto insurance laws.
If you have a driving history marred by a series of accidents, tickets, and violations, you might find it very challenging or even impossible to secure Utah auto insurance through regular channels. If this is the case, you might be eligible for Utah’s high-risk insurance plan, aptly named the Utah Automobile Insurance Plan (UT AIP).
The UT AIP was started in 1949 to ensure that Utah drivers had access to full coverage while distributing the losses associated with high-risk drivers to companies across the state.
In fact, any insurance company in the state of Utah must agree to take on a certain amount of high-risk drivers in order to be permitted to write policies in the state. When you apply to the UT AIP, the program assigns high-risk drivers who meet the eligibility criterion to an insurer currently selling policies in the state.
It is important to note, that you will not be able to choose your auto insurance carrier when obtaining coverage through the high-risk Utah auto insurance program. High-risk drivers are assigned to carriers based on the percentage of the insurance market that company comprises.
So, if State Farm makes up 20 percent of the auto insurance market in the state of Utah, they will be given 20 percent of high-risk drivers via the UT AIP.
Once accepted into the program and assigned an insurer, your coverage will last for a period of three years, provided you continue to be eligible during that time. If you obtain high-risk auto insurance through UT AIP, that period is a valuable opportunity to work on bettering your driving record.
As your driving record improves, it may be possible once more for you to secure coverage through the voluntary insurance market (and therefore enjoy more affordable rates).
If your driving record has not improved by the time the program has ended, you can apply again to the UT AIP for consideration.
If you are still covered as a high-risk insured and do secure coverage through the voluntary market, you may let your assigned Utah auto insurance carrier know to cancel your policy and they will send you a prorated refund of your policy premiums.
In order to be considered eligible for the UT AIP program, you must:
- Submit an application stating that you have tried to secure insurance through the voluntary insurance market during the past 60 days
- Provide a valid driver’s license
- Have a vehicle registered in Utah
Reasons you might not be eligible for UT AIP include:
- You have an outstanding bill to your previous auto insurance carrier
- You did not bring your vehicle for the visual inspection by a representative of the insurance company
- You falsified information on your application about yourself, your car, or your driving record
If you are unable to apply for reasons like an outstanding bill or missed inspection, you can take the necessary actions to resolve those issues and move your application forward. You must fill out the application completely and honestly, as misinformation will not only bar you from coverage but prevent you from applying again to UT AIP for an entire year.
Drivers insured through Utah’s high-risk plan have a few different options to pay their premiums. You can opt to put 40 percent of your annual premium down as a deposit when you send in your application, and pay the remaining 60 percent within 30 days of your policy being issued.
The second option is to pay your annual premium by installments. With installments, you will still be required to pay 40 percent with your application, but you can pay the other 60 percent in five monthly payments of equal amounts. If you do choose the payment plan option, be aware that there is an additional four dollar fee that applies.
If accepted into UT AIP, you must ensure that you pay your auto insurance bill in a timely fashion. Otherwise, with just one missed payment, your assigned insurer will send you a notice of cancellation.
Check out the UT AIP’s page for more information. Any licensed Utah auto insurance carrier is knowledgeable about and can help walk you through the process of applying for UT AIP.
Just a mere handful of states offer sponsored low-cost insurance programs for individuals who meet certain eligibility requirements and income thresholds. Currently, Utah does not have any such program in place.
Some states mandate a waived deductible in the event of car repairs, while some only let you use manufacturer replacement parts if you need a repair done. In the state of Utah, you may select the repair shop you prefer when getting repairs done, but you may be required to make up any price difference.
Regarding windshield and full glass auto insurance coverage, Utah companies are permitted to use aftermarket crash parts (or non-original manufacturer replacement parts) for repairs, but they must provide full disclosure of such under Utah Code 31A-22-319.
Automobile Insurance Fraud in Utah
Insurance fraud is a crime in the state of Utah, carrying with it potentially grave penalties for offenders. In basic terms, insurance fraud is when someone with full intent provides falsified, deceptive, or incomplete information in order to receive insurance benefits they would not otherwise be entitled to.
Utah’s key fraud laws as they pertain to auto insurance are Utah Code 76-6-521 and 31A-31-103.
Examples of insurance fraud include:
- Offering deceptive, incomplete, or false information related to an insurance application, either verbally or in writing
- Providing deceptive, incomplete, or false information to receive damages or insurance benefits in connection with a civil claim for bodily injury or property damage
- Receiving benefits from the proceeds of a fraudulent insurance act
- Knowingly planning or devising to receive some type of benefit or service fees due under deceptive pretenses, misrepresentations, false promises, or omission of fact
- Helping, plotting with, or soliciting another individual to commit a fraudulent act
- Offering false or deceptive information regarding material facts in a statement or document to an insurance department
- Soliciting, using, or acting as the agent committing a fraudulent insurance act
Insurers can also be found guilty of committing insurance fraud, but for the sake of this guide, we are focusing solely on instances of consumer insurance fraud.
Knowingly offering false, deceptive, or incomplete information regarding an insurance application is categorized as a Class B misdemeanor, with penalties including up to six months imprisonment and fines up to $1,000.
Knowingly or carelessly planning a scheme to receive benefits, service fees, or any other benefit of value through the use of deception, false pretensions, or omission of fact is categorized as a:
- A Class B misdemeanor if the sought or secured benefits amount to less than $500 total
- A Class A misdemeanor with penalties including up to one year’s imprisonment and fines up to $2,500 if the secured or sought benefits are over $500 but under $1,500
- A third-degree felony with penalties including up to five year’s imprisonment and fines up to $5,000 if the secured or sought benefit is $1,500 or above but under $5,000
- A second-degree felony with penalties including up to 15 year’s imprisonment and fines up to $10,000 if the secured or sought benefit is $5,000 or above
Besides the aforementioned penalties, offenders may also be required to pay restitution and any associated costs like attorney’s fees. It is up to the court’s discretion to mandate a civil penalty as much as three times more than the value of the sought or secured insurance fraud benefit.
The moral of the story is, don’t commit insurance fraud, and you can set your mind at ease!
Statute of Limitations
A statute of limitations is the time in which you have to file a personal injury claim following an accident. In the case of car accidents in the state of Utah, under Utah Code 78B-2-307 you have four years from the date of the collision to present your claim for any resulting injuries you incur.
The statute of limitations for property damage claims is three years from the date of the accident.
A statute of limitations is not to be confused with the time frame in which you must file a claim with your insurer following an accident. Most companies require you to file your auto insurance claim within days, or at most, a few weeks following a collision.
Remember, Utah adheres to the no-fault system. You may not file a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver for damages or pain and suffering unless you meet certain thresholds.
These thresholds mandate that you must have incurred at least $3,000 worth of medical expenses due to the accident, or suffered permanent disfigurement, dismemberment, permanent disability, or permanent impairment.
Different statutes of limitations than the ones previously mentioned come into play in the case of a wrongful death claim, or if the collision was caused by a city, county, or state employee.
For instance, the Utah statute of limitations for a wrongful death claim on behalf of an individual killed due to the collision is two years from the date of death or one year if filing the claim against a government entity.
Utah’s Modified Comparative Fault Rule
The majority of states in the country, Utah being one of them, follow the modified comparative negligence doctrine, as laid out in Utah Code 78B-5-818.
This means that even if you meet the thresholds named above and are able to pursue a claim, you will not be able to receive damages if you bear a larger portion of the fault in the collision than the at-fault party.
For example, if you were 45 percent at fault for the collision, you could recover 45 percent of the total damages awarded. However, if you are 50 percent or more at fault, you will not be able to receive any damages.
If you are less than 50 percent at fault, you could recover damages deducted by the percentage of fault assigned to you.
Utah’s Vehicle Licensing Laws
Ready to learn about Utah’s vehicle licensing laws? We thought so!
The REAL ID Act of 2005 mandates certain security standards for the production and issuing of drivers licenses, and also prohibits agencies from accepting license and ID cards that do not meet the minimum requirements laid out in the act.
The State of Utah is in full compliance with the REAL ID Act. This means that federal agencies are permitted to accept Utah ID cards and licenses at nuclear and federal facilities. Check out the video above for an explanation of REAL ID in action in Utah!
Let’s take a closer look at the vehicle licensing laws that govern all drivers in the Beehive State.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
Penalties for driving without Utah auto insurance can be steep. Acceptable proofs of insurance under Utah Code 41-12a-303.2 include:
- Your physical insurance policy
- Your insurance ID card
- Your insurance policy declarations page
- A mobile proof of insurance of the same
Alternative proof of insurance options include:
- A certificate of deposit
- A surety bond
- A certificate of self-funded insurance
There are several occasions in which you might be asked to present proof of insurance. These are:
- When a law enforcement officer approaches you for a routine check
- If you are involved in a car accident
- If the Uninsured Motorist Identification Database Program alerts the Department of Public Safety regarding your uninsured status
If you are caught driving without insurance in Utah, you could be subject to a Class C misdemeanor charge, incurring fines up to $1,000 and up to 90 days imprisonment.
If you are convicted of driving without insurance following a traffic stop citation, your license will be suspended until you can provide proof of insurance. If you are convicted of driving without insurance after an auto accident, a one-year mandatory license suspension will be enacted.
In addition to this, you will be required to maintain an SR-22 proof of financial responsibility for three years, particularly as you will be on probation for a time. To have your license reinstated, you will need to satisfy all fines and pay the $30 fee for reinstatement.
To have your registration reinstated, you will need to present the court with proof of ownership, a valid photo ID, and your proof of financial responsibility in policy form or your three-year SR-22. You will have to satisfy any fees and pay a $100 reinstatement fee.
If your registration was suspended as part of the sentence, you will also be required to pay a $30 administrative fee.
Teen Driver Laws
Here’s what you need to know about teen driver laws in the state of Utah.
Drivers must be at least 15 years old to obtain a learner’s license. Before obtaining your license or intermediate license, you must:
- Have your learners license at least six months
- Complete a minimum of 40 hours of supervised driving time, 10 of which must be during nighttime
- You must be at least 16 years old
Restrictions during the intermediate licensing period include:
- Nighttime restrictions between midnight and 5 A.M.
- No passengers besides family members
The minimum age at which the restrictions can be removed are:
- 17 years old for nighttime restrictions
- For passenger restrictions, after a holding period of six months or until the age of 18, whichever takes place first
Teen drivers under the age of 18 who hold a permit may only operate a vehicle when supervised by a parent or guardian, driving instructor, or a responsible adult who has signed the permit application. Individuals applying for a permit under the age of 19 must enroll in driver education.
During the supervised driving period, up to five hours may include driving in a simulator. Anyone applying for a license while under the age of 19 must have finished driver education.
Older Driver and General Population License Renewal Procedures
Check out the license renewal procedures for older drivers and the general population in the state of Utah.
Older drivers must:
- Renew once every eight years as of January 1, 2020
- Proof of adequate vision is required at every renewal for individuals aged 65 and up
- Online renewal is allowed every other renewal
The general population is required to:
- Renew once every eight years as of January 1, 2020
- Proof of adequate vision is required if renewing in person
- Online renewal is permitted every other renewal
If you are a new resident of the Beehive State, here’s what you need to do to obtain your Utah driver license:
- Complete a walk-in appointment or schedule an appointment at a driver’s license division office
- Fill out the application for your driver’s license
- Have your photo taken
- Provide proof of drivers education or submit your valid out-of-state or country drivers license
- Provide proof of identity
- Offer your full social security number
- Provide two documents proving your residence in Utah
- Complete and successfully pass the vision test
- Pass the written knowledge test and/or driving skills test
- Pay a nonrefundable $32.00 fee for individuals 21 and up or a nonrefundable $39.00 fee for individuals 20 and under
Here is a full list of acceptable documents for your driver’s license appointment.
Negligent Operator Treatment System
Reckless driving is categorized as a Class B misdemeanor in the state of Utah, referring to:
- Driving with willful disregard for the safety of others or their property
- Committing three moving violations in a three-mile stretch of driving
Penalties include up to six month’s imprisonment and up to $1,000 in fines. If convicted, the Driver License Division may suspend the offender’s drivers license for a period of up to three months if recommended by the judge.
If you are convicted of a second reckless driving violation in the 12 months following, your license will be suspended. Convictions also carry 80 demerit points for a driver’s record. If you gather 200 or more points in a three-year window, this could also lead to suspension of your license.
Utah’s Rules of the Road
Let’s take a look at Utah’s essential rules of the road that every driver in the Beehive State needs to know.
Fault vs. No-Fault
Remember, Utah adheres to the no-fault system, which means that you must go through your own Personal Injury Protection to cover the costs of injuries you incur in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. You may only go beyond the no-fault system to pursue the offending party if you meet the thresholds previously discussed.
Keep Right and Move Over Laws
Under Utah Code 41-6a-704, drivers traveling in the left lane, when overtaken by another motorist in the same lane, shall yield and move over to the right lane when safe to do so. Drivers are not permitted to inhibit the flow of traffic by remaining in the left general purpose lane.
Utah’s move over law is Utah Code 41-6a-904, requiring drivers nearing stationary emergency vehicles, towing vehicles, or highway maintenance vehicles with flashing red and blue, amber, red and white, or red lights to provide as much space as is possible to those vehicles. If possible, the driver should vacate to another lane, provided it is safe to do so.
Speed limits in the state of Utah are as follows:
- 75 mph on rural interstates (80 mph on certain road segments)
- 65 mph on urban interstates
- 75 mph on other limited-access roads
- 65 mph on other roads
Seat Belt and Car Seat Laws
Utah’s seat belt and car seat laws are taken seriously, as they should! All children seven years of age and under who are shorter than 57 inches tall must be secured in a child safety seat. Children between the ages of eight and 15 and all children who are 57 inches or taller may wear an adult safety belt. Violations will incur a minimum base fine of $45.
Utah imposes restrictions on who may ride in the cargo seat area of pickup trucks. Passengers are permitted to ride in cargo areas if in off-highway operation, if they are employees performing work duties, or if they are individuals riding in a space intended to carry any load.
Rideshare providers like Lyft and Uber take out commercial policies for drivers to protect both the driver and any passengers in the event of an accident. Only rarely do drivers take out individual commercial policies.
In 2015, the governor of Utah signed a bill enacting new regulations for ridesharing services, which would mandate drivers to be covered with a minimum of one million dollars in commercial liability coverage. Failure to comply would result in fines of up to $500.
Automation on the Road
As of May 29, 2019, full deployment of autonomous vehicles will be permitted on Utah roads. Any operator of an autonomous vehicle will need to be licensed, but will not be required to be physically inside the vehicle.
As of the effective May 29, 2019 date, operators will need to be covered by liability insurance to operate their autonomous vehicle.
Utah’s Safety Laws
Take a close look at Utah’s safety laws covering DUIs, marijuana impairment, and distracted driving.
Here’s the dealâ
As of December 30, 2018, a new law was signed into effect lowering the state’s previous BAC limit from 0.08 down to 0.05, making Utah’s DUI laws some of the strictest in the country. The video above explains the ramifications of the new law in greater detail.
Check out the table below, for an overview of Utah’s current DUI laws.
|Utah's DUI Laws||Details|
|High BAC Limit||0.16|
|Criminal Status by Offense||The 1st and 2nd are class B misdemeanors, the 3rd+ in 10 years are third degree felonies|
|Formal Name for Offense||Driving Under the Influence (DUI)|
|Look Back Period/Washout Period||10 years|
|Mandatory Interlock||All offenders|
If you’re caught breaking these laws, you can expect the following penalties depending on if you’ve had previous offenses.
|Offense||ALS or Revocation||Imprisonment||Fine||Other|
|1st Offense||120 days. Alcohol restricted driving privilege for two years.||Minimum 48 consecutive hours OR 48 hours of community service OR home confinement||$1,310 minimum||IID 18 months|
|2nd Offense||DL revocation for two years. Alcohol restricted driving privilege for 10 years.||Minimum 240 consecutive hours OR 240 hours of community service OR home confinement||$1,560 minimum.||NA|
|3rd Offense||DL revocation for two years. Alcohol restricted driving privilege for life.||62 days up to five years||$2,850 up to $5000||IID 18 month.|
|4th Offense||DL revocation for two years. Alcohol restricted driving privilege for life.||NA||NA||NA|
Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws
Utah enforces a zero-tolerance policy for the presence of THC and metabolites. In fact, it is a Class B misdemeanor to have any level of a metabolite in your system when behind the wheel. Under Utah Code 41-6a-517, the law does not only apply if you are impaired by the drug.
Rather, if you have any metabolites in your body, regardless of impairment, you can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor. Penalties include fines up to $1,000, up to six month’s imprisonment, and a 120-day license suspension.
What’s the point?
These laws are just as grave as they sound, carrying with them equally grave penalties. It is not advised to get behind the wheel with any marijuana metabolites present in your body, period, no matter whether you are impaired or not.
Distracted Driving Laws
Utah has enacted a strict cellphone ban on all motorists under the age of 18. All drivers are banned from texting while operating a vehicle.
Road Dangers in the State of Utah
It’s critical to understand the key road dangers in your state to ensure you stay safe whenever you operate your vehicle.
Let’s dig deeperâ
Vehicle Theft in Utah
In 2013 alone, there were 1,876 motor vehicle thefts in Salt Lake City. Browse the FBI’s Crime in the U.S. Report to see the number of thefts in your city or town in recent years.
|Model||Most Popular Model Year Stolen||Total Number of Thefts|
|Ford Pickup (Full Size)||2006||238|
|Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)||2004||225|
|Dodge Pickup (Full Size)||2012||117|
|Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee||1996||102|
The table above shows the top 10 stolen cars in the state of Utah, along with the most popular model year stolen of the listed makes and models.
Road Fatalities in Utah
Pay close attention to the road fatality statistics in the state of Utah to ensure you stay sharp and cognizant at all times on the road.
Traffic Fatalities by Weather Condition and Light Condition
|Weather Condition||Daylight||Dark, but Lit||Dark||Dawn or Dusk||Other / Unknown||Total|
Fatalities by County
|County Name||Total Fatalities 2013||Total Fatalities 2014||Total Fatalities 2015||Total Fatalities 2016||Total Fatalities 2017||Fatalities Per 100K 2013||Fatalities Per 100K 2014||Fatalities Per 100K 2015||Fatalities Per 100K 2016||Fatalities Per 100K 2017|
|Box Elder County||5||13||16||10||12||9.86||25.34||30.88||18.88||22.19|
|Salt Lake County||53||66||76||69||69||4.9||6.05||6.88||6.15||6.08|
|San Juan County||7||8||5||10||12||46.7||53.15||32.81||65.24||78.15|
2017 Traffic Fatalities
|Type||Number of Fatalities|
|Rural Traffic Fatalities||116|
|Urban Traffic Fatalities||156|
Fatalities by Person Type
|Occupants (Enclosed Vehicles)||185|
Fatalities by Crash Type
|Involving a Large Truck||36|
|Involving a Rollover||79|
|Involving a Roadway Departure||142|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||58|
Five-Year Trend for the Top 10 Counties
|County||Total Fatalities 2013||Total Fatalities 2014||Total Fatalities 2015||Total Fatalities 2016||Total Fatalities 2017|
|Salt Lake County||53||66||76||69||69|
|Box Elder County||5||13||16||10||12|
|San Juan County||7||8||5||10||12|
Fatalities Involving Speeding by Top 10 Counties
|County||Total Fatalities 2013||Total Fatalities 2014||Total Fatalities 2015||Total Fatalities 2016||Total Fatalities 2017||Total Fatalities Per 100K 2013||Total Fatalities Per 100K 2014||Total Fatalities Per 100K 2015||Total Fatalities Per 100K 2016||Total Fatalities Per 100K 2017|
|Box Elder County||1||1||6||3||2||1.97||1.95||11.58||5.66||3.7|
Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver by Top 10 Counties
|County||Total Fatalities 2013||Total Fatalities 2014||Total Fatalities 2015||Total Fatalities 2016||Total Fatalities 2017||Total Fatalities Per 100K 2013||Total Fatalities Per 100K 2014||Total Fatalities Per 100K 2015||Total Fatalities Per 100K 2016||Total Fatalities Per 100K 2017|
|Box Elder County||0||2||2||1||5||0||3.9||3.86||1.89||9.25|
Teen Drinking and Driving
|Teens and Drunk Driving||Details|
|Under 21 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities Per 100K of the Population||0.5|
|Higher/Lower Than National Average (1.2)||Lower|
|DUI Arrests (Under 18 Years Old)||196|
|DUI Arrests (Under 18 Years Old) Total Per Million People||212.63|
EMS Response Time
|Type||Time of Crash to EMS Notification||EMS Notification to EMS Arrival||EMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital Arrival||Time of Crash to Hospital Arrival||Total Fatal Crashes|
Did you know that the average Utah resident spends 20.3 minutes in commute time? This figure is actually a bit lower than the national average commute time of 25.3 minutes, while a minute 1.35 percent of workers in Utah have “super commutes” exceeding 90 minutes.
The Top City in Utah for Traffic Congestion
|City||Traffic Index||Time Index (in minutes)||Inefficiency Index|
|Salt Lake City||155.28||34.72||190.28|
Predictably, Utah’s capital is the top city in the state for traffic congestion. The data above from Numbeo’s recent study indicates the traffic, time, and inefficiency indexes for commuters.
Traffic index is the compounded index of time eaten up in traffic while the time index is simply the one way commute time in minutes. Inefficiency index is the estimation of traffic inefficiencies, such as driving a car rather than using public transit.
Whether your commute is just a quick ZIP up the road, a mere walk to your home office, or you find yourself sitting in traffic day after day, don’t get behind the wheel again without taking the necessary steps to protect yourself as a driver in the state of Utah.
Start on your journey to saving big on Utah auto insurance providers by securing your FREE quote today when you comparison shop with our online rate tool. Just enter your ZIP code below to get started!
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.