Tennessee Auto Insurance [Rates + Cheap Coverage Guide]
Tennessee requires a minimum of 25/50/15 of bodily injury and property damage coverage. Memphis has the highest average rates at $415.96/mo.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Apr 29, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
|Miles of Roadway||95,561|
|Most popular vehicle||F150|
|Uninsured % / Underinsured %||20% (15)|
|Driving related deaths||Speeding:
|Full Coverage Average Premiums||Liability:
|Cheapest Provider||State Farm|
Tennessee, also known as âThe Volunteer Stateâ, has agriculture, manufacturing, and tourism as its main economic staples. It is the hub for the country music scene, has a rich Civil War history, and is also known for being the home of Graceland.
Donât be nothinâ but a Hounâ Dog and go barking at the confusion of auto insurance, because we have got your back.
This comprehensive and definitive guide to auto insurance in Tennessee will tame that achy breaky heart and talk about auto insurance coverage, the best auto insurance companies, auto insurance laws, rules of the road, and more.
But before you get started, do you want to save some money on auto insurance? Start today by entering your zip code.
Tennessee Auto Insurance Coverage and Rates
Auto insurance coverage and all that goes along with it can be confusing.
The following sections aim to explain what to know when buying auto insurance and make it easy to understand the meaning behind the lingo insurance agents use.
Tennessee Car Culture
When it comes to cars in Tennessee, those who live in Tennessee have an interesting attitude about their cars. They view cars as practical and important, for most jobs are not in the city center and people need their cars to get them from Point A to Point B.
Despite the practical attitude about cars, Tennesseeans also love their cars and want them to be big, loud, and flashy. This could mean anything from owning an expensive car to getting your car a flashy paint job.
So in Tennessee, cars are viewed as both practical and as a status symbol.
Tennessee Minimum Coverage
If you do not have any coverage, you should not take the risk of driving without auto insurance in Tennessee. You could face up to a $300 fine, have your car taken away, and have your license revoked.
All for not having insurance.
When it comes to which states have the highest and lowest amount of people insured, an organization known as the Insurance Information Institute came up with a list of top 10 states where the highest and lowest percentage of the population were insured. This list also shows where the other states fall in terms of how many people are insured.
Tennessee ranks number five on the list of the highest amount of the population insured, with 20 percent of the population uninsured and driving without insurance. This means that out of the 5,330,937 people registered in the state of Tennessee, 1.1. Million of you are driving without insurance.
You need insurance not only to avoid fines but also to protect you and those who are in the car with you.
At the minimum, you will need liability auto insurance coverage. Liability insurance covers you if you are in an accident and there is bodily injuries or property damage.
If there is bodily injuries or property damage, it is important to know that Tennessee is an at-fault state. This means that whoever is at-fault in an accident is responsible for paying for any property or personal damage.
The mandatory amount of insurance a driver must carry in Tennessee is as follows:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person.
- $50,000 for total bodily injury per accident.
- $15,000 for property damage per accident.
This minimum liability coverage is known as 25/50/15.
Uninsured coverage is also required, with the same amount of coverage as liability insurance. You will be signed up automatically for this coverage unless you reject it in writing.
If stopped by a police officer, you must show your proof of insurance, whether you keep it in your car or you show it electronically.
Tennessee is a state that allows you to show electronic proof of insurance. For this, you are allowed to show the officer a digital card through your insurance app on your phone, if offered by your insurance company. Double-check with your insurance company to see if they offer this service.
Required Forms of Financial Responsibility in Tennessee
The easiest form of financial responsibility is to have auto insurance (at least the minimum amount required).
Other things can also serve as proof of financial responsibility, such as:
- posting a bond with the Tennessee Department of Revenue for $65,000.
- making a cash deposit with the Tennessee Department of Revenue for $65,000.
Premiums as Percentage of Income in Tennessee
After we get paid, hopefully, we have a little bit of leftover money after we put money toward our bills.
The leftover money is called disposable personal income, and this is the money you can put toward your wants. Disposable personal income is the amount of money you have left to spend after you have taken care of your necessary expenses and after paying your taxes.
Over the course of three years, from 2012 to 2014, Tennesseeâs annual disposable income fell in the range between $35,000 to $36,000. This is below the countrywide average of $39,000 to $40,000 from the years 2012-2014.
People may look at this range and think that incomes are like this all across the state. This is not the case. According to Pocket Senseâs article âWhat Is Considered A Low-Income Salary In Tennessee?â:
Although Tennesseeâs standard income is lower than much of the rest of the U.S., this income isnât representative of average salaries across the state. For example, residents living in the affluent Williamson County outside Nashville have the highest incomes in the state and are among the highest in the nation, as well.
In 2010, Forbes named Williamson County as the 17th richest county in the country, with median household incomes of $88,316 annually. In 2017 that had dipped to $87,832, but was still the highest in the state. On the other hand, individuals in Hancock County near the Virginia state line are among the lowest incomes in the state, with an average of just $23,125 in 2017.
In other words, it just depends on where you live.
American Consumer Credit Counseling advises that if you can, save 20 percent of every paycheck.
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates in TN (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)
|Core Auto Insurance Coverage Costs in Tennessee||Annual Rate|
The above table illustrates data provided by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners on the average insurance costs in Tennessee as of the year 2015.
The national average insurance costs are as follows:
- Liability: $516.39
- Collision: $299.73
- Comprehensive: $138.87
- Full Coverage: $954.99
Tennessee runs behind the national average except in the collision and comprehensive coverage categories.
Remember that Tennessee has minimum requirements for insurance coverage. If at all possible, experts suggest purchasing more than the minimum liability amount of 25/50/15.
The data in the table below is from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners and current as of 2015. It shows the average costs of additional liability loss ratios in Tennessee.
|Additional Liability Coverage in Tennessee||Details|
|Medical Pay (Med Pay)||69.12|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage||68.06|
|Uninsured %/Rank||20% (15)|
A loss ratio means the percentage of claims an insurance company is paying out. If the loss ratio is over 100 percent, the company is losing money. If the loss ratio is too low, the company is not paying claims.
The national average for Med Pay is 74.05 and for 67.33 for Uninsured/Underinsured. Tennessee is slightly below the national average for Med Pay and slightly above the national average for Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders
If you want to add additional coverage to your insurance policy, good news.
There are powerful and cheap extras you can add to your insurance policy.
Hereâs a list of useful coverage available to you in Tennessee:
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Rental Reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Auto Insurance
- Modified Auto Insurance Coverage
- Classic Auto Insurance
- Pay-As-You-Go or Usage-Based Insurance
Tennessee Automobile Insurance Plan
While there is no government-mandated low-cost auto insurance plan in Tennessee, make sure to check with your insurance provider to see if they offer any kind of discount. Most auto insurance companies will offer such things as good-driver discounts, senior citizen discounts, student discounts, and military discounts.
There is something if you are considered a high-risk driver called the Tennessee Automobile Insurance Plan, or TNAIP. To be eligible for TNAIP:
- You must attest in your application that you have tried unsuccessfully to find coverage in the voluntary market within the prior 60 days.
- You must fill out the application completely and in good faith.
- If you have failed to pay an auto insurance premium in the last year, TNAIP will require you to pay it before the application begins.
Coverage lasts for three years. You can get the 25/50/15 coverage, or you can get max coverage of up to 100/300/50. If you purchase collision or comprehensive coverage, you have a deductible choice of $100, $250, $500, or $1,000.
Average Auto Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in TN
An ancient myth is told that men pay more than women for auto insurance.
Okay, maybe it is not so ancient. But this myth does exist.
Let us look at the data and see if this myth holds true for Tennessee.
|Company||Married 35-year old female Annual Rate||Married 35-year old male Annual Rate||Married 60-year old female Annual Rate||Married 60-year old male Annual Rate||Single 17-year old female Annual Rate||Single 17-year old male Annual Rate||Single 25-year old female Annual Rate||Single 25-year old male Annual Rate|
|Mid-Century Ins Co||$1,817.48||$1,850.03||$1,631.91||$1,788.38||$7,410.65||$7,883.17||$2,457.63||$2,601.27|
|SAFECO Ins Co of IL||$3,639.40||$129.00||$2,991.77||$3,342.39||$14,916.05||$16,572.79||$3,902.85||$4,159.27|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,612.16||$1,612.16||$1,452.60||$1,452.60||$4,907.17||$6,139.77||$1,821.23||$2,116.70|
|Travelers Prop Cas Ins Co||$1,767.42||$1,860.42||$1,606.70||$1,710.20||$4,956.52||$6,143.14||$1,882.49||$1,981.27|
The data shows that for the most part, males are paying a bit more than females for auto insurance.
The companies with the MAJOR exception to the rule is SAFECO Ins Co of IL. Married 35-year-old males are paying less than females.
Cheapest Rates by Zip Code
There are 667 zip codes in the state of Tennessee.
Where does your zip code stand in terms of annual average rates?
|Cheapest ZIP Codes in Tennessee||City||Average Annual Rate by ZIP Codes||Most Expensive Company||Most Expensive Annual Rate||2nd Most Expensive Company||2nd Most Expensive Annual Rate||Cheapest Company||Cheapest Annual Rate||2nd Cheapest Company||2nd Cheapest Annual Rate|
|37601||JOHNSON CITY||$3,173.65||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,163.63||State Farm||$2,311.58||Travelers||$2,392.43|
|37614||JOHNSON CITY||$3,175.79||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,164.94||State Farm||$2,383.48||Travelers||$2,424.67|
|37620||BRISTOL||$3,176.81||Liberty Mutual||$5,174.63||Allstate||$4,087.45||State Farm||$2,160.43||USAA||$2,449.19|
|37692||UNICOI||$3,177.19||Liberty Mutual||$5,368.79||Allstate||$4,162.22||State Farm||$2,283.56||Travelers||$2,387.75|
|37604||JOHNSON CITY||$3,187.79||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,164.94||State Farm||$2,311.47||Travelers||$2,431.30|
|37684||MOUNTAIN HOME||$3,188.99||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,189.90||State Farm||$2,315.51||Travelers||$2,431.22|
|37690||TELFORD||$3,197.59||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,115.87||State Farm||$2,177.69||Travelers||$2,422.75|
|37615||JOHNSON CITY||$3,199.74||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,171.03||State Farm||$2,267.57||Travelers||$2,452.07|
|37643||ELIZABETHTON||$3,200.59||Liberty Mutual||$5,321.14||Allstate||$4,163.43||State Farm||$2,273.92||Travelers||$2,423.68|
|37694||WATAUGA||$3,210.85||Liberty Mutual||$5,321.14||Allstate||$4,188.17||State Farm||$2,271.87||Travelers||$2,387.21|
|37650||ERWIN||$3,212.85||Liberty Mutual||$5,368.79||Allstate||$4,134.59||State Farm||$2,335.93||Travelers||$2,361.87|
|37659||JONESBOROUGH||$3,217.01||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,164.05||State Farm||$2,285.69||Travelers||$2,451.10|
|37663||KINGSPORT||$3,220.96||Liberty Mutual||$4,961.30||Allstate||$4,187.37||State Farm||$2,360.95||USAA||$2,435.57|
|37657||FLAG POND||$3,222.95||Liberty Mutual||$5,368.79||Allstate||$4,134.60||State Farm||$2,345.30||Travelers||$2,441.62|
|37617||BLOUNTVILLE||$3,226.34||Liberty Mutual||$4,961.30||Allstate||$4,185.82||USAA||$2,435.57||State Farm||$2,439.98|
|37686||PINEY FLATS||$3,248.25||Liberty Mutual||$5,321.14||Allstate||$4,179.29||State Farm||$2,377.89||USAA||$2,435.57|
|37682||MILLIGAN COLLEGE||$3,257.44||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,767.24||State Farm||$2,315.51||Travelers||$2,463.58|
|37618||BLUFF CITY||$3,259.15||Liberty Mutual||$5,321.14||Allstate||$4,183.25||State Farm||$2,299.18||USAA||$2,449.19|
|37660||KINGSPORT||$3,265.10||Liberty Mutual||$5,141.66||Allstate||$4,156.94||State Farm||$2,403.39||USAA||$2,435.31|
|37680||LAUREL BLOOMERY||$3,266.48||Liberty Mutual||$6,063.27||Allstate||$4,182.23||State Farm||$2,315.51||Travelers||$2,368.74|
|37688||SHADY VALLEY||$3,269.32||Liberty Mutual||$6,063.27||Allstate||$4,189.80||State Farm||$2,306.69||Travelers||$2,395.59|
|37656||FALL BRANCH||$3,275.84||Liberty Mutual||$5,141.66||Allstate||$4,774.39||State Farm||$2,181.50||Travelers||$2,579.06|
|37665||KINGSPORT||$3,282.60||Liberty Mutual||$5,141.66||Allstate||$4,209.03||USAA||$2,435.31||State Farm||$2,476.80|
|37664||KINGSPORT||$3,286.44||Liberty Mutual||$5,445.99||Allstate||$4,093.61||State Farm||$2,416.48||USAA||$2,435.25|
|37658||HAMPTON||$3,294.15||Liberty Mutual||$6,049.58||Allstate||$4,171.16||State Farm||$2,296.29||Travelers||$2,374.93|
You can search for your zip code in these tables to find out how much you’re paying, on average, annually.
|Most Expensive ZIP Codes in Tennessee||City||Average Annual Rate by ZIP Code||Most Expensive Company||Most Expensive Annual Rate||2nd Most Expensive Company||2nd Most Expensive Annual Rate||Cheapest Company||Cheapest Annual Rate||2nd Cheapest Company||2nd Cheapest Annual Rate|
|38112||MEMPHIS||$4,984.01||Liberty Mutual||$8,412.97||Allstate||$6,445.39||USAA||$3,294.44||State Farm||$3,560.64|
|38131||MEMPHIS||$4,952.11||Liberty Mutual||$8,294.54||Allstate||$6,771.01||USAA||$3,428.10||State Farm||$3,644.58|
|38126||MEMPHIS||$4,950.53||Liberty Mutual||$8,470.60||Allstate||$6,771.39||USAA||$3,323.82||State Farm||$3,408.64|
|38127||MEMPHIS||$4,916.69||Liberty Mutual||$7,432.01||Allstate||$6,482.95||USAA||$3,351.71||State Farm||$3,640.48|
|38107||MEMPHIS||$4,906.85||Liberty Mutual||$8,412.97||Allstate||$6,631.77||USAA||$3,351.71||State Farm||$3,360.10|
|38105||MEMPHIS||$4,889.05||Liberty Mutual||$8,412.97||Allstate||$6,771.31||State Farm||$3,329.34||USAA||$3,346.64|
|38108||MEMPHIS||$4,886.59||Liberty Mutual||$8,412.97||Allstate||$6,204.92||USAA||$3,351.71||State Farm||$3,563.36|
|38114||MEMPHIS||$4,883.14||Liberty Mutual||$7,811.89||Allstate||$6,771.32||USAA||$3,323.82||State Farm||$3,494.64|
|38109||MEMPHIS||$4,879.55||Liberty Mutual||$7,826.82||Allstate||$6,771.37||USAA||$3,323.82||State Farm||$3,571.52|
|38106||MEMPHIS||$4,855.29||Liberty Mutual||$8,470.60||Allstate||$6,625.68||USAA||$3,323.82||State Farm||$3,506.22|
|38152||MEMPHIS||$4,820.32||Liberty Mutual||$7,958.43||Allstate||$6,694.41||USAA||$3,332.11||State Farm||$3,554.69|
|38104||MEMPHIS||$4,818.28||Liberty Mutual||$7,759.04||Allstate||$6,510.51||USAA||$2,985.60||State Farm||$3,322.69|
|38163||MEMPHIS||$4,759.35||Liberty Mutual||$7,958.43||Allstate||$6,771.01||State Farm||$3,084.95||USAA||$3,332.11|
|38103||MEMPHIS||$4,753.52||Liberty Mutual||$7,759.04||Allstate||$6,771.33||USAA||$3,346.64||State Farm||$3,353.13|
|38157||MEMPHIS||$4,658.50||Liberty Mutual||$7,958.43||Farmers||$5,751.99||State Farm||$3,084.95||USAA||$3,332.11|
|38125||MEMPHIS||$4,510.60||Liberty Mutual||$7,560.82||Allstate||$5,594.06||USAA||$3,220.10||State Farm||$3,318.48|
|38134||MEMPHIS||$4,485.52||Liberty Mutual||$7,813.35||Allstate||$5,314.94||USAA||$3,065.06||State Farm||$3,474.93|
Cheapest Rates by City
Take a look at the tables below to see if your home city has expensive or cheap auto insurance rates.
|Cheapest Cities in Tennessee||Average Annual Rate by City||Most Expensive Company||Most Expensive Annual Rate||2nd Most Expensive Company||2nd Most Expensive Annual Rate||Cheapest Company||Cheapest Annual Rate||2nd Cheapest Company||2nd Cheapest Annual Rate|
|Central||$3,173.65||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,163.63||State Farm||$2,311.58||Travelers||$2,392.43|
|Bristol||$3,176.81||Liberty Mutual||$5,174.63||Allstate||$4,087.45||State Farm||$2,160.43||USAA||$2,449.19|
|Unicoi||$3,177.19||Liberty Mutual||$5,368.79||Allstate||$4,162.22||State Farm||$2,283.56||Travelers||$2,387.75|
|Johnson City||$3,181.79||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,164.94||State Farm||$2,347.47||Travelers||$2,427.98|
|Mountain Home||$3,188.99||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,189.90||State Farm||$2,315.51||Travelers||$2,431.22|
|Telford||$3,197.59||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,115.87||State Farm||$2,177.69||Travelers||$2,422.75|
|Gray||$3,199.74||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,171.03||State Farm||$2,267.57||Travelers||$2,452.07|
|Elizabethton||$3,200.59||Liberty Mutual||$5,321.14||Allstate||$4,163.43||State Farm||$2,273.92||Travelers||$2,423.68|
|Watauga||$3,210.85||Liberty Mutual||$5,321.14||Allstate||$4,188.17||State Farm||$2,271.87||Travelers||$2,387.21|
|Banner Hill||$3,212.85||Liberty Mutual||$5,368.79||Allstate||$4,134.59||State Farm||$2,335.93||Travelers||$2,361.87|
|Jonesborough||$3,217.01||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,164.05||State Farm||$2,285.69||Travelers||$2,451.10|
|Colonial Heights||$3,220.96||Liberty Mutual||$4,961.30||Allstate||$4,187.37||State Farm||$2,360.95||USAA||$2,435.57|
|Flag Pond||$3,222.95||Liberty Mutual||$5,368.79||Allstate||$4,134.60||State Farm||$2,345.30||Travelers||$2,441.62|
|Blountville||$3,226.34||Liberty Mutual||$4,961.30||Allstate||$4,185.82||USAA||$2,435.57||State Farm||$2,439.98|
|Piney Flats||$3,248.25||Liberty Mutual||$5,321.14||Allstate||$4,179.29||State Farm||$2,377.89||USAA||$2,435.57|
|Milligan College||$3,257.45||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,767.24||State Farm||$2,315.51||Travelers||$2,463.58|
|Bluff City||$3,259.15||Liberty Mutual||$5,321.14||Allstate||$4,183.25||State Farm||$2,299.18||USAA||$2,449.19|
|Bloomingdale||$3,265.10||Liberty Mutual||$5,141.66||Allstate||$4,156.94||State Farm||$2,403.39||USAA||$2,435.31|
|Laurel Bloomery||$3,266.48||Liberty Mutual||$6,063.27||Allstate||$4,182.23||State Farm||$2,315.51||Travelers||$2,368.74|
|Shady Valley||$3,269.32||Liberty Mutual||$6,063.27||Allstate||$4,189.80||State Farm||$2,306.69||Travelers||$2,395.59|
|Fall Branch||$3,275.84||Liberty Mutual||$5,141.66||Allstate||$4,774.39||State Farm||$2,181.50||Travelers||$2,579.06|
|Kingsport||$3,284.52||Liberty Mutual||$5,293.82||Allstate||$4,151.32||USAA||$2,435.28||State Farm||$2,446.64|
|Hampton||$3,294.15||Liberty Mutual||$6,049.58||Allstate||$4,171.16||State Farm||$2,296.29||Travelers||$2,374.93|
|Roan Mountain||$3,298.94||Liberty Mutual||$6,049.58||Allstate||$4,161.78||State Farm||$2,359.35||Travelers||$2,406.60|
|Limestone||$3,308.69||Liberty Mutual||$5,266.60||Allstate||$4,767.24||State Farm||$2,328.90||Travelers||$2,463.58|
The least expensive city for auto insurance is Central City.
|Most Expensive Cities in Tennessee||Average Annual Rate by City||Most Expensive Company||Most Expensive Annual Rate||2nd Most Expensive Company||2nd Most Expensive Annual Rate||Cheapest Company||Cheapest Annual Rate||2nd Cheapest Company||2nd Cheapest Annual Rate|
|Memphis||$4,788.94||Liberty Mutual||$7,837.10||Allstate||$6,315.27||USAA||$3,244.18||State Farm||$3,520.60|
|Bartlett||$4,343.08||Liberty Mutual||$6,987.71||Allstate||$5,415.78||USAA||$2,983.87||State Farm||$3,305.26|
|Cordova||$4,314.74||Liberty Mutual||$6,942.75||Allstate||$5,505.10||USAA||$2,942.55||State Farm||$3,306.64|
|Germantown||$4,184.91||Liberty Mutual||$7,131.60||Allstate||$5,452.45||USAA||$2,556.92||State Farm||$2,888.53|
|Millington||$4,172.26||Liberty Mutual||$6,327.79||Allstate||$6,287.11||USAA||$2,744.12||State Farm||$2,760.02|
|Arlington||$4,114.08||Liberty Mutual||$6,916.62||Allstate||$5,389.19||USAA||$2,651.42||State Farm||$2,997.14|
|Collierville||$4,107.47||Liberty Mutual||$6,826.31||Allstate||$5,322.40||USAA||$2,545.56||State Farm||$2,989.35|
|Brighton||$4,105.10||Liberty Mutual||$6,916.62||Allstate||$6,287.04||USAA||$2,955.10||State Farm||$2,992.03|
|Drummonds||$4,094.22||Liberty Mutual||$6,916.62||Allstate||$6,286.94||State Farm||$2,735.89||Travelers||$2,947.28|
|Eads||$4,080.50||Liberty Mutual||$6,898.36||Allstate||$5,526.13||USAA||$2,993.52||State Farm||$3,052.25|
|Atoka||$4,075.14||Liberty Mutual||$6,916.62||Allstate||$6,287.04||State Farm||$2,901.72||USAA||$2,953.34|
|Munford||$4,056.03||Liberty Mutual||$6,916.62||Allstate||$6,287.03||USAA||$2,837.09||State Farm||$2,873.36|
|Burlison||$4,042.45||Liberty Mutual||$6,576.73||Allstate||$6,286.90||State Farm||$2,962.96||USAA||$2,984.08|
|Rossville||$4,041.12||Liberty Mutual||$7,145.14||Allstate||$5,523.04||USAA||$2,871.42||State Farm||$2,910.98|
|Williston||$4,036.66||Liberty Mutual||$7,145.14||Allstate||$5,522.94||USAA||$2,850.00||State Farm||$2,860.79|
|Silerton||$4,029.52||Liberty Mutual||$8,470.60||Allstate||$4,808.48||Travelers||$2,665.25||State Farm||$2,736.15|
|Covington||$4,010.68||Liberty Mutual||$6,576.73||Allstate||$5,914.04||State Farm||$2,813.43||Travelers||$2,911.83|
|Oakland||$3,971.25||Liberty Mutual||$7,145.14||Allstate||$5,522.98||State Farm||$2,801.18||USAA||$2,860.71|
|Mason||$3,966.47||Liberty Mutual||$6,576.73||Allstate||$5,522.93||State Farm||$2,849.69||USAA||$2,871.42|
|Spring Creek||$3,963.50||Liberty Mutual||$8,470.60||Allstate||$4,954.71||State Farm||$2,681.96||Travelers||$2,857.13|
|Campaign||$3,945.78||Liberty Mutual||$8,470.60||Allstate||$4,666.47||State Farm||$2,434.85||USAA||$2,621.85|
|Mc Lemoresville||$3,925.54||Liberty Mutual||$8,470.60||Allstate||$4,874.90||State Farm||$2,509.91||Travelers||$2,549.48|
When it comes to looking at which cities hold the top 10 spots, Memphis has the most expensive annual auto insurance rates.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Best Tennessee Auto Insurance Companies
The word “best” can mean different things to different people, and we all may have our own definition of what we believe to be âbestâ.
âBestâ may mean a company’s financial rating. Or customer ratings. Maybe it means how cheap, or expensive, certain companies are.
Keeping in mind your definition of what “best” means to you, read on to find the best auto insurance company in Tennessee.
The Largest Companies’ Financial Ratings
The financial rating means, simply, how well a company is doing financially in a particular year, and the A.M. Best Financial Rating is the official way of measuring this.
|Company||A.M. Best Financial Rating|
Four companies: State Farm, Geico, USAA, and Travelers, have a rating of A++.
Companies with Best Ratings
J.D. Power and Associates gave a study to auto insurance customers in multiple U.S. Regions. This study asked auto insurance customers to rank auto insurance companies.
In the Southeast Region, where Tennessee is located, Farm Bureau Insurance of Tennessee has a rank of 884 on a 1,000 point scale, which means customers consider it “among the best”. The next best company is Auto-Owners Insurance. It has a rank of 842, which means customers consider it âbetter than mostâ.
Companies with Most Complaints in Tennessee
When it comes to customer complaints, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) provides a list of the top companies and the number of complaints they receive each year.
This list is as of 2017.
|Company||Number of Complaints|
The company that has the most complaints is State Farm.
Cheapest Companies in Tennessee
|Mid-Century Ins Co||$3,430.07|
|SAFECO Ins Co of IL||$6,206.69|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$2,639.30|
|Travelers Prop Cas Ins Co||$2,738.52|
If your definition of “best” relates to the cheapest price, State Farm has the cheapest average annual price for insurance in Tennessee.
SAFECO Ins Co of IL is the most expensive.
Commute Rates by Companies
|Company||10 Mile Commute||25 Mile Commute|
State Farm takes this category as well in terms of cheapest rates, for it offers the cheapest rates for both 10-mile commutes and 25-mile commutes. Liberty Mutual, Allstate, Farmers, Nationwide, and Progressive offer the same rates, no matter the commute. Liberty Mutual is the most expensive, no matter the commute.
Commute times are certainly not the greatest factor that can affect your rates.
Coverage Level Rates by Companies
|Company||Annual Rate with Low Coverage||Annual Rate with Medium Coverage||Annual Rate with High Coverage|
For the third straight category, State Farm is the cheapest. It has the cheapest average annual rates, no matter whether you need low, medium, or high coverage.
Credit History Rates by Companies
|Company||Annual Rate with Good Credit||Annual Rate with Fair Credit||Annual Rate with Poor Credit|
State Farm seems to be killing it when it comes to Tennessee. For the fourth straight category, they offer the cheapest rates if you have a good credit history and a fair credit history. Travelers offers the cheapest insurance when it comes to those with poor credit.
Liberty Mutual is the most expensive, no matter your credit score.
Driving Record Rates by Companies
If you have a clean driving record, you will want to look into USAA. They offer the cheapest rates for those who have a clean driving record.
|Company||Clean Record||1 Accident||1 DUI||1 Speeding Violation|
Geico is the cheapest if you happen to have a speeding violation on your record. State Farm is the cheapest for those with one DUI on their records. Travelers is the cheapest if you have one accident on your record.
Liberty Mutual is the most expensive company, no matter what is on your driving record.
Largest Auto Insurance Companies in Tennessee
|Company||Direct Premiums Written||Market Share|
State Farm holds the greatest percentage of the market in Tennessee, while Travelers holds the least amount of the Tennessee market.
Number of Insurers by State
Domestic and foreign comes down to whether you want to put your stock in something local or something available nationwide.
Domestic means that the insurer has its home offices located in the state of Tennessee while foreign means a company has its home offices located in another state.
There are 15 domestic insurers and 930 foreign insurers in Tennessee.
Laws, laws, laws.
There are a lot of them, and the legal terms may have you scratching your head.
Let us help you by talking about the Tennessee laws for auto insurance, vehicle licensing, and more.
Auto Insurance Laws
Before you dive in and get started you can check the laws, and then you can read further to get the laws of Tennessee in more detail.
We will talk about how state laws are determined and about such things as windshield coverage, and insurance fraud.
How State Laws for Insurance are Determined
Laws have to pass through the state’s House of Representatives and the State Senate before they become law.
The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance is responsible for any and all insurance laws in the state of Tennessee.
Windshield & Glass Repair Laws
When it comes to Tennessee law, there is nothing unique to windshields. Also, according to Car Windshields, there’s nothing in Tennessee law regarding parts or choice of repair shop.
The high-risk insurance in Tennessee is the Tennessee Automobile Insurance Plan.
To find out more about it, click on this link to go to the above section.
Tennessee does not have a government-mandated low-cost auto insurance program, so it is up to you to ask your insurance provider if they provide any kind of discounts. When in doubt, be sure to ask. Insurance companies may have discounts you do not know about.
Automobile Insurance Fraud in Tennessee
Auto insurance fraud is a crime in Tennessee.
According to FindLaws, in Tennessee, âIt’s a criminal violation to knowingly, with intent to defraud for money or other value, submit insurance transactions containing false representations of any facts in an application, renewal, or payment of any insurance policy. Doing so knowingly or recklessly could be a civil violation. Also, intentionally submitting a false insurance claim for benefits or false documents to support the false claim is prohibited.â
Insurance fraud ends up costing you money. When people commit insurance fraud, insurance companies lose money. Those losses are then passed down to the customers. The amount of fines and jail time depends on the amount of money fraudulently received.
- Class A Misdemeanor: $500 or less punished by less than 11 months and 29 days in jail. A fine of not more than $2,500.
- Class E Felony: Between $500 to $1,000 gained punished by 1-6 years in prison. A fine not more than $3,000.
- Class D Felony: Between $1,000 to $10,000 gained punished by 2-12 years in prison. A fine not more than $5,000.
- Class C Felony: Between $10,000 to $60,000 gained punished by 3-15 years in prison. A fine not more than $10,000.
- Class B Felony: For $60,000 or more gained, 8-30 years in prison and a fine not more than $25,000.
If you feel like you have been a victim of insurance fraud, report it.
The Statute of Limitations in Tennessee
It is important to know what a statute of limitations is, so you know how much time you have to file charges.
The statute of limitations is a set amount of time you or the other party have to file charges and make your case.
It protects you and the other party by giving each of you a set amount of time to file charges. Once that time limit passes, no one can file charges.
In Tennessee, the statute of limitations is one year for a personal injury case and three years for a property damage case.
Tennessee Specific Laws
Hey there, Tennessee.
Here are some strange vehicle and driving laws of your state.
- You can legally shoot a whale out of your car window in Tennessee.
- You can legally pick up roadkill.
- You cannot drive in Tennessee when you are asleep (though that should be common sense everywhere).
- In Memphis, for a woman to drive a car unless there is a man either running or walking in front of it waving a red flag to warn approaching motorists.
Tennessee’s Vehicle Licensing Laws
When it comes to the laws involving your vehicle, that is what these sections are for.
We will talk about REAL ID, license renewal procedures, and more.
Tennessee REAL ID
Starting October 1, 2020, federal agencies will endorse what is known as the REAL ID Act.
This requires you to have a REAL ID to either board flights or enter federal buildings.
You do not need this ID if you do not do either of the above things.
A Tennessee REAL ID has a star in the upper right-hand corner, like most other REAL IDs.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
If you have insurance but happen to not show it to the officer, you will be issued a fine.
If you are driving without insurance, not a good idea.
You can expect to receive a fine of up to $300 if you are caught driving without insurance. You also risk having your vehicle towed and your license and registration suspended. This leaves you possibly having to file a high-risk insurance SR-22 form.
If you can provide proof that you have insurance, your charge will be dismissed. If you cannot provide proof, you have to pay a $25 coverage failure fee.
If you do not pay that fee, you will pay an additional $100 coverage failure fee, plus have your license and registration revoked. Before you can drive again, you will have to pay a $115 in reinstatement fees.
Avoid fees by having auto insurance.
Teen Driver Laws
You are now at the age where you can drive.
But hold on a minute.
Before you can get behind the wheel and drive, you have to first have a permit and gradually go up the graduated license ladder before you can get your license.
There are two levels to the graduated license law before you receive a full license:
- Learner Permit: Apply at age 15 years. You must provide appropriate documents, and pass a written/vision test. Your parents must sign off on their consent to let you have a learner permit AND you have to show proof of attendance and school progress.
- Intermediate Driver License: Held a learnerâs permit for 180 days. Pass a road test. Apply at age 16. Provide appropriate documents, and have 50 hours of practice driving, including 10 hours of night driving. 50 Hour Certification form must be signed.
- Intermediate Unrestricted License
With each level comes restrictions:
- Instruction Permit Restrictions: Drive only with parent/guardian or someone 19 or older (25 or older after dark). Have 30 hours of practice driving, 10 of which must be at night.
- Probationary License Restrictions: Have to complete the practice driving. Can drive alone but for the first nine months cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by a parent or licensed adult.
- Intermediate Unrestricted License: No restrictions.
Older Driver License Renewal Procedures
According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, the rules for older drivers and license renewal in Tennessee are straightforward, even more so in Tennessee.
If you are 65 or older, your license does not expire.
When you move to Tennessee, you will need to register your vehicle and get a new license. You must do all this within 30 days.
You will need to bring:
- Your current license.
- Proof of identity and residency dated within the last four months.
- Proof of citizenship.
- Social Security Car.
License Renewal Procedures
You can renew your license every eight years.
Licenses can be renewed up to 12 months before the expiration date.
Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS)
When you accumulate 12 or more points on your driving record in a 12-month timespan, your license will be suspended.
According to Greg Coleman Law, negligent driving can mean any of the following activities:
- Aggressive driving
- Defective auto parts
- Driving while drowsy
- Driving under the influence of alcohol
- Eating and drinking while driving
- Applying makeup or shaving while driving
- Talking and texting while driving
- Unsafe driving
Rules of the Road
As you are traveling the roads of Tennessee, make sure you are following the rules of the road as well.
Find out more about the rules of the road in Tennessee
Fault vs. No-Fault
Remember, Tennessee is an at-fault state. That means whoever is at fault is the one who has to pay the personal or property damages.
Seat Belts and Car Seat Laws
Wearing a seatbelt and making sure any young children that need to be in car seats is necessary to keep everyone in the car safe.
Seat belts are required for the driver and all passengers nine years and older. Violation of this is a primary offense, meaning that the officer can stop you if you are not wearing a seatbelt.
According to the IIHS:
[Children] younger than 1 year or 20 pounds or less should be in a rear-facing child restraint; 1 through 3 years and 20+ pounds should be in a forward-facing child restraint; 4 through 8 years and less than 4’9″ should be in a booster seat. Children 8 years and younger and less than 4’9″ must be in rear seat if available; rear seat recommended for children 9 through 12.
If stopped and children are not restrained, the maximum base fine is $30.
When it comes to riding in the back of a truck, you cannot do it unless according to IIHS you are 12 and older. If you are ages 6-11 in a vehicle being operated off the interstate or state highway system, or in parades if vehicle going less than 20 mph; agricultural activities; or on city or county roads unless prohibited by local ordinance or resolution.
Keep Right and Move Over Laws
In Tennessee, the laws are as follows according to AAA:
State law requires drivers approaching a stationary authorized emergency, utility vehicle, municipal vehicle, road maintenance vehicle, or a tow truck or recovery vehicle, displaying flashing lights and traveling in the same direction, to reduce speed and, if safe to do so, vacate the lane closest to the vehicles.
There is no keep right law. You need to yield and move right only if you are driving slower than the traffic around you.
In Tennessee, the speed limit is 70 miles per hour on rural interstates, urban interstates, and limited access roads. It is 65 miles per hour on all other roads.
Tennessee suggests that people carpool and vanpool. TDOT has a website with information on this if you are curious and want to know more.
Automation on the Road
Tennessee has deployed automated vehicles. No operators need to be in the vehicle, and operators donât need a license, but you do need liability insurance of up to $5,000,000.
Laws exist to help keep us safe, and the safety laws in Tennessee are no exception.
Read on to find out the laws about DUI, marijuana, and distracted driving.
Driving under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substance is a crime in Tennessee.
If you are driving with a Blood Alcohol Content of 0.08, you are considered DUI in the state of Tennessee. If you are 21 and under, no amount of alcohol should be in your system.
First-time offenders receive:
- Mandatory jail time of up to 48 hours, and up to 11 months and 29 days in jail.
- A fine between $350-$1,500.
- Revocation of license up to one year.
- Mandatory attendance of an alcohol and drug treatment program.
Second-time offenders receive:
- Mandatory jail time of up to 45 days and a max of up to one year.
- A fine between $600-$3,500.
- Revocation of license for up to two years. After you get your license back can only be used in specific circumstances.
- Possible confiscation of the vehicle.
Third-time offenders receive:
- Mandatory jail time of up to 120 days and a max of one year.
- A fine between $1,100-$10,000.
- Revocation of license anywhere from 6-10 years.
- No possibility of getting a restricted license.
Fourth and subsequent offenders receive:
- Mandatory jail time of a minimum of one year.
- A fine between $3,000-$15,000.
- Revocation of license for eight years.
- No possibility of getting a restricted license.
Judges can order restitution to any person you harmed for any DUI. Also, you will pay fees to get your license reinstated, SR-22 fees, and other various fees.
Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws
There are no specific laws related to marijuana impairment in Tennessee.
Marijuana of any sort is not legal in Tennessee and any bills are off the table until 2020.
Distracted Driving Laws
Tennessee, as of July 1, 2019, will make it illegal to hold or text on any hand-held device.
PCO412 makes it illegal, according to Hands-Free Tennessee, for any driver in Tennessee to:
- hold a cellphone or mobile device with any part of their body,
- write, send, or read any text-based communication,
- reach for a cellphone or mobile device in a manner that requires the driver to no longer be in a seated driving position or properly restrained by a seat belt,
- watch a video or movie on a cellphone or mobile device, and
- record or broadcast video on a cellphone or mobile device.
One study listed Tennessee as having the highest number of deaths related to distracted driving in the nation. In 2018, there were over 24,6000 crashes due to distracted driving in Tennessee.
Fines for violations of the distracted driving law, according to Hands-Free Tennessee, are as follows:
- $50: First-time offense
- $100: Third-time offense or higher; violation results in a car crash
- $200: Violation occurs in a work zone while workers are present; violation occurs in a marked school zone while flashers are in operation
Driving in Tennessee
Driving, depending on your state of mind, can be a real pain in the butt.
What is it like to drive on the roads in Tennessee?
The following sections discuss vehicle theft, road fatalities, traffic, and commute time.
Vehicle Theft in Tennessee
|Vehicle||Model Year||Number of Vehicles Stolen|
|Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)||1997||693|
|Ford Pickup (Full Size)||2004||468|
|GMC Pickup (Full Size)||1996||201|
|Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee||2000||178|
The information listed above is as of 2015 from the National Insurance Crime Bureau.
The 1997 Full-Size Chevrolet Pickup is the most popular vehicle stolen in Tennessee, with 693 stolen.
The 2000 Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee is the least popular vehicle stolen in Tennessee, with 178 stolen.
|Red Boiling Springs||1|
The information listed above is as of 2016 from the FBI Criminal Justice Information Services Division.
Memphis has had the most vehicles stolen, with 3,234 stolen. The Nashville Metropolitan area is not far behind, with 1,728 vehicles stolen.
Road Fatalities in Tennessee
When it comes to driving, accidents happen. Unfortunately, some of these accidents are fatal.
The following sections talk about different kinds of fatal accidents you might expect in Tennessee.
Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition and Light Condition
If you do not like the weather in Tennessee, you might not have to wait long for it to change.
What kinds of conditions cause accidents in Tennessee?
|Weather Condition||Daylight||Dark, but Lighted||Dark||Dawn or Dusk||Other / Unknown||Total|
In Tennessee, most crashes tend to happen during the day under normal conditions. The second time crashes most occur is in the dark but under normal conditions.
Fatalities (All Crashes) by County
|Type||Number of Fatalities|
|Passenger Vehicle Occupant Fatalities (All Seat Positions)||732|
|Drivers Involved in Fatal Crashes||1,451|
|Bicyclist and other Cyclist Fatalities||8|
Fatalities by Person Type
|Occupants (Enclosed Vehicles)||436|
Fatalities by Crash Type
|Involving a Large Truck||136|
|Involving a Rollover||261|
|Involving a Roadway Departure||665|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||158|
Five-Year Trend for the Top 10 Counties
|Top Ten Counties||411||417||427||469||433|
|All Other Counties||584||546||535||568||607|
Fatalities Involving Speeding by County
Fatalities Involving Alcohol-Impaired Driving by County
Teen Drinking and Driving
If you are under 21, you are expected by the state of Tennessee to have NO alcohol in your system.
According to Alt Shuler Law:
Teenagers under 18 will be tried through the juvenile court system. Drivers between 18 and 21 will be tried as adults. A first-time offense will mean spending at least 48 hours in jail. If a teenager or 20-year-old is found guilty of a DWI, they will also lose their driving privileges for a year, will have to pay a fine, and may be required complete a court-ordered community service program.
In Tennessee, you most likely you live in a two-car household, drive alone to work, and spend a little less than the national average commuting.
The information that follows is from Data USA, in regards to the year 2017.
Most people in Tennessee own two cars, around 40.7 percent of people.
The national average for commuters in the United States is 25.2 minutes. In Tennessee, the average commute time is 23.9 minutes. Additionally, 2.04 percent of the workforce in Tennessee has what is called a “super-commute”, where workers have to commute for 90 minutes or more each way.
Most people who live in Wisconsin choose to go to work alone: 83.2 percent of the Tennessee workforce, in fact.
Traffic Congestion in Tennessee
On the three major traffic congestion lists: INRIX, TomTom, and Numbeo, several cities in Tennessee for having the worst traffic congestion.
TomTom is the most telling. It shows that Nashville, Knoxville, and Memphis are the three big cities in Tennessee that have the worst traffic congestion.
Nashville: 219 in the world. Traffic stands at a 22 percent congestion level. On highways, there is a 16 percent peak congestion and a 30 percent peak congestion on non-highways and other roads.
The morning peak stands at 41 percent and the evening peak at 59 percent. The extra travel time in peak hours is 12 extra minutes per morning and 18 extra minutes per evening (in regards to a 30-minute commute).
Memphis: 365 in the world. Traffic stands at a 14 percent congestion level. On highways, there is an 8 percent peak congestion and a 17 percent peak congestion on non-highways and other roads.
The morning peak stands at 22 percent and the evening peak at 31 percent. The extra travel time in peak hours is seven extra minutes per morning and nine extra minutes per evening (in regards to a 30-minute commute).
Knoxville: 393 in the world. Traffic stands at a 12 percent congestion level. On highways, there is a 6 percent peak congestion and an 18 percent peak congestion on non-highways and other roads.
The morning peak stands at 18 percent and the evening peak at 30 percent. The extra travel time in peak hours is five extra minutes per morning and nine extra minutes per evening (in regards to a 30-minute commute).
What does congestion look like in these three cities?
We hope this comprehensive auto insurance for Tennessee has helped you. Did we miss anything?
What part of this guide was the most helpful for you?
Start your search for auto insurance by comparison shopping auto insurance rates today.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.