Hawaii Auto Insurance [Rates + Cheap Coverage Guide]
Hawaii requires 20/40/10 for bodily injury and property damage coverage. The average cost of car insurance in Hawaii is $71.36/mo.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Apr 29, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
|Hawaii Statistics Summary||Details|
|Road Miles 2014||Total in State: 4,439
Vehicle Miles Driven: 10,174 Million
|Vehicles 2014||Registered: 1,350,438
Total Stolen: 3,879
|State Population (2018)||1,420,491|
|Most Popular Vehicle||Tacoma|
|Percentage of Motorists Uninsured||10.60%
State Rank: 30
|Driving Deaths||Speeding (2008-2017) Total: 500
Drunk Driving (2008-2017) Total: 410
|Average Annual Premiums (2015)||Liability: $458.49
Combined Premium: $856.33
|Cheapest Provider||State Farm Mutual Auto|
Renowned for its waterfalls, cliff jumping, volcanoes, colorful beaches, the hula, and its six beautiful, luscious, green islands, Hawaii is a stunning place to live and visit. Complete with over 4,400 miles of roadway, Hawaii boasts scenic views and warm climates — but that’s not all.
The state of Hawaii also has over a million cars registered, and every single one of them has (or should have) at least a minimum auto insurance policy.
Wondering if you need coverage? You absolutely need auto insurance in Hawaii! It is the state law. But you might also be wondering, what kind of auto insurance do I need? What insurance companies have the cheapest rates? Do I need to have more than the minimum required?
Finding the best auto insurance policy for your lifestyle can be daunting, so if you’re already feeling a little lost, don’t worry. You’ve come to the right place.
In this complete guide to auto insurance, we cover topics like types of auto insurance, state driving laws, road dangers, vehicle theft, rate comparisons between states, different coverage plans and much, much more! So don’t go anywhere– first, we’ll talk about Hawaii auto insurance coverage and rates.
Want to get started comparing auto insurance rates in your area right now? Plug in your ZIP code to this box below to get started.
Hawaii Auto Insurance Coverage and Rates
It’s crazy that there are so many different kinds of auto insurance plans out there — but, it’s even crazier that so many drivers have no idea about what they’re paying for when it comes to their own auto insurance policy.
When you’re done reading this section, you will understand what insurance actually coverage means and what kinds of insurance cover what kinds of accidents and unfortunate events in general. Let’s begin with Hawaii’s car culture. You didn’t think everyone in Hawaii only used boats, did you?
Hawaii Minimum Coverage
Hawaii is a “no-fault” car accident state. This means that every driver must carry minimum liability insurance and personal injury protection insurance to be in compliance with Hawaii state law. But what is a ‘no-fault’ state, you ask?
No-fault means that even though you might be involved in an accident that you did not cause, you are still liable to file a claim with your insurance company if you want the cost of damages done to your vehicle and/or medical bills covered.
However, if you get into an accident and you want to sue the person who caused the accident, you can file a “pain and suffering” lawsuit, but your injuries must be bad enough to meet certain requirements.
According to NOLO, Hawaiiâs no-fault system does not apply to vehicle damage claims after a car accident. A liability claim for damage to (or total loss of) a vehicle can be made against the at-fault driver in Hawaii, with no limitations.
Hawaii’s minimum coverage for auto insurance law states that you must meet the following requirements:
- $10,000 for personal injury protection. It’s important to remember that this protection only covers injuries and only covers up to certain limits
- $20,000 for bodily injury, per person
- $40,000 for total bodily injury if multiple people are injured
- $10,000 for property damage
Still don’t understand?
If this is your first time calling about a new insurance policy for your car, you can ask your insurance company to give you a quote for the minimum insurance required.
Usually, this type of insurance runs the cheapest because it covers the bare minimum and generally, it is smart to get more insurance than just the minimum required.
Who is covered by a minimum insurance policy?
- anyone who is injured while driving the policyholder’s vehicle with permission
- anyone injured as a passenger in the policyholder’s vehicle
- any pedestrian, bicyclist, or moped operator who is injured in an accident involving the policyholder’s vehicle
We can also see below how rates compare across different states.
Forms of Financial Responsibility
A form of financial responsibility tells a law enforcement officer that in the case of an accident, a driver is able to pay for damages by way of his or her insurance company. This filing, which is added to the insurance policy, is called SR-22.
A driver is required to carry SR-22 if he or she has been charged with driving under the influence, has been convicted of drinking and driving, has had a license suspended, or when given multiple driving violations in a short amount of time.
In Hawaii, there are three different kinds of SR-22 insurance:
- Operatorâs certificate covers financial responsibility if the motorist does not have a vehicle
- Ownerâs certificate is for the motoristâs vehicle
- Operator-Ownerâs covers both the motoristâs vehicle and other vehicles if not insured
Keep in mind that all drivers in Hawaii must show proof of insurance even if they don’t have to carry SR-22. Drivers may use an electronic insurance card or an insurance card and must show any law enforcement officer when they ask.
Driving without insurance is a serious crime in the state of Hawaii, and can be punishable by license suspension, jail time and thousands of dollars in fines.
Premiums as a Percentage of Income
In 2014, Hawaii’s average per capita income was $41,801. That same year, Hawaiian drivers paid on average $858.16 per year for full coverage auto insurance. This means that drivers spent 2.05 percent of their income on auto insurance alone. That’s a pretty low premium as a percentage of income!
In 2012-2013, the average rate only jumped about four cents. From 2013-2014, average rates went up $14.
Americans pay an average rate of $974.26 per year on full coverage auto insurance; Hawaii’s rate is only $858.16 per year.
Just like guac is extra at Chipotle, add-ons always cost extra when it comes to auto insurance.
When we compare Hawaii’s average rate to its neighbor states (Alaska and California), Hawaii’s rate is less than Alaska’s by $200 and around $100 less than California’s rate.
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates in HW (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)
Below is a table and chart showing average rates in Hawaii for minimum liability insurance, collision, comprehensive, and full coverage auto insurance.
|Coverage Type||Annual Costs (2015)|
The data above is pulled directly from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. But, don’t forget this data only goes back to 2015, so rates for 2019 will most likely be higher.
Additional Liability Coverage
|Medical Payments (MedPay)||243.93%||78.24%||154.88%|
|Unisured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UUM)||40.07%||36.28%||53.72%|
|Personal Injury Protection||62.18%||60.65%||65.27%|
So what is loss ratio? The table above tells us that in 2014, 243 percent of medical pay claims were paid, 40 percent of uninsured/underinsured motorist claims were paid, and 62 percent of personal injury protection claims were paid out. So basically, loss ratio is the number of claims an insurance company paid out (or didn’t pay out).
If the number is over 100 percent, the insurance company is at risk of going bankrupt because they are paying too many claims.
Take a look at med-pay claims: 243 percent — let that sink in. That number is crazy high and gives a red flag that most insurance companies are paying way too many of these claims.
On the other hand, if the loss ratio is too low, you might be getting scammed by your insurance company because it isn’t paying enough claims. Look at it this way: if the loss ratio is somewhere around 50 percent, this means that you have a 50/50 chance of your claim being paid by your insurance company.
Those aren’t very good odds, especially when you’re a Hawaiian resident and you’re paying 2 percent of your annual income to your insurance company!
We’ve already told you that it’s against the law to drive without insurance, but obviously, not every person is going to live by this law.
Around 10.6 percent of Hawaiian drivers are uninsured. This ranks Hawaii 30th in the U.S. for uninsured drivers.
Almost 11 percent of drivers in Hawaii will not be able to pay for damages to your vehicle or for anything else if they cause an accident! After reading these statistics, you might decide that driving with a better insurance policy is an intelligent idea.
Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders
We’ve already stated that it’s probably not the smartest idea ever to have a minimum auto insurance policy, but you still might be scratching your head thinking, what kinds of insurance add-ons should I have on my policy? What if a hail storm puts a hole in my roof or a bear decides to eat my bumper while I’m camping?
Never fear! Click on the links below to learn more about each specific add-on and endorsement.
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Rental Reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Auto Insurance
- Modified Auto Insurance Coverage
- Classic Auto Insurance
- Pay-As-You-Drive or Usage-Based Insurance
Just remember that you can always add one or several of these insurance add-ons to your policy at any time.
Average Auto Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in HW
Factors like gender, age and relationship status can play a huge role when you’re trying to figure out your insurance rate.
|Company||Married 35-year old female Annual Rate||Married 35-year old male Annual Rate||Married 60-year old female Annual Rate||Married 60-year old male Annual Rate||Single 17-year old female Annual Rate||Single 17-year old male Annual Rate||Single 25-year old female Annual Rate||Single 25-year old male Annual Rate|
|Farmers Ins HI Standard||$4,659.38||$4,659.38||$4,659.38||$4,659.38||$5,077.15||$5,077.15||$4,659.38||$4,659.38|
|Geico Govt Employees||$3,358.86||$3,358.86||$3,358.86||$3,358.86||$3,358.86||$3,358.86||$3,358.86||$3,358.86|
|Liberty Mutual Fire||$3,179.89||$3,179.89||$3,179.89||$3,179.89||$3,218.54||$3,218.54||$3,179.89||$3,179.89|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,040.28||$1,040.28||$1,040.28||$1,040.28||$1,040.28||$1,040.28||$1,040.28||$1,040.28|
This table shows that rates are typically the same across the board, regardless of your gender. Hawaii is one of a handful of states that have outlawed charging different rates by gender.
However, it also shows that the younger you are, the more you’ll end up paying for your rate. Hawaii does rank first for the best states for cheap teen auto insurance, though, which makes Hawaii’s teen rates more reasonable than the majority of states.
Insurance companies know that the older you are, the more responsible you’ll be with your car and your driving, and hopefully, this means you’ll be less likely to get into as many accidents.
Cheapest Rates by ZIP Code
Where you live can affect your rate as well.
Scroll through this list to see if your ZIP code has one of the lowest insurance rates in the state.
|City||Zip code||Average Annual Rate||Allstate||Farmers||Geico||Liberty Mutual||Progressive||State Farm||USAA|
If you didn’t find your ZIP code in the table above, it may be in the following table with the most expensive rates in Hawaii.
|City||Zip code||Average Annual Rate||Allstate||Farmers||Geico||Liberty Mutual||Progressive||State Farm||USAA|
|HAWAII NATIONAL PARK||96718||$2,859.11||$2,451.60||$5,487.00||$3,708.67||$3,645.14||$2,415.64||$1,083.14||$1,222.56|
It’s kind of crazy how choosing one company over another can give you almost a rate of $1500 less.
Cheapest Rates by City
Here’s a table showing the cheapest rates by cities in Hawaii.
|City||Average Annual Rate|
|CAMP H M SMITH||$2,511.19|
|M C B H KANEOHE BAY||$2,511.19|
|TRIPLER ARMY MEDICAL CENTER||$2,511.19|
|WHEELER ARMY AIRFIELD||$2,511.19|
|HAWAII NATIONAL PARK||$2,859.11|
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Hawaii Auto Insurance Companies
It’s really hard to feel like you’re not being taken advantage of when you’re searching for a good auto insurance company to not only give your money to but also trust that when you need to file a claim, that claim will be paid.
The largest companies in the state will be more capable of writing those claims than others.
We know that consumers need the best coverage, but they also need the best rate possible for that rate. This is why we’ve searched high and low for the best auto insurance companies in Hawaii and gathered important info like rates, customer satisfaction, customer complaints, and more.
Don’t stop reading! You’re about to read about the best auto insurance companies in Hawaii.
The Largest Companies Financial Rating
How do you measure a company’s financial rating? How do you know you can put your money where their mouth is? How do you know if a auto insurance company will pay your claims — not just one, but all of them?
We measure company strength by AM Best Ratings.
The table below shows the AM Best Ratings for the top ten largest auto insurance companies in Hawaii.
|Company Name||AM Best Rating||Direct Premiums Written||Loss Ratio||Market Share|
|State Farm Group||A++||$139,679||56.60%||18.56%|
|Allstate Insurance Group||A+||$67,866||51.00%||9.02%|
|Farmers Insurance Group||A||$51,498||52.22%||6.84%|
|Tokio Marine Holdings Inc Group||A++||$38,833||64.55%||5.16%|
|Liberty Mutual Group||A||$34,387||60.68%||4.57%|
|Island Insurance Co Group||A||$24,127||64.89%||3.21%|
|MS & AD Insurance Group||A+||$17,932||53.46%||2.38%|
As we talked about previously, loss ratios are a key factor to consider when shopping for auto insurance. The loss ratios for all ten of these companies have great percentages — over 40 percent and under 100 percent.
2017 Complaints About the Top 10 Largest Insurance Companies in Hawaii
This data shows complaints about the top 10 companies in Hawaii. It’s good to keep in mind that even the best companies get complaints, and customer satisfaction isn’t based on how many complaints a company gets, but rather how that company handles complaints.
|Top Providers of Auto Insurance in Hawaii||Company Complaint Ratio 2017||Total Complaints 2017|
|State Farm Group||0.44||1482|
|Allstate Insurance Group||0.5||163|
|Farmers Insurance Group||0||0|
|Tokio Marine Holdings Inc Group||0.71||1|
|Liberty Mutual Group||5.95||222|
|Island Insurance Co Group||0||0|
|MS & AD Insurance Group||0||0|
These companies know what they’re doing when it comes to customer satisfaction, so it’s no wonder they made it on the top ten list.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Companies in Hawaii
Looking for the cheapest rate in Hawaii? Generally, no matter where you live in Hawaii, these seven companies will have the cheapest auto insurance rate.
|Company||Average Annual Rate|
|Farmers Ins HI Standard||$4,763.82|
|Geico Govt Employees||$3,358.86|
|Liberty Mutual Fire||$3,189.55|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,040.28|
Commute Rates by Company
Don’t forget that your rate can be affected by how many miles you drive per year.
|Company||10 Miles Commute, 6000 Annual Mileage||25 Miles Commute, 12000 Annual Mileage|
With the exception of Allstate, all of these rates are the same.
Coverage Level Rates by Company
Did we mention that more insurance is always better insurance? Don’t be tempted to be a cheapo when it comes to purchasing a auto insurance policy. Here’s a table showing coverage level rates in Hawaii.
|Company||Annual Rate with Low Coverage||Annual Rate with Medium Coverage||Annual Rate with High Coverage|
It’s interesting that Farmer’s insurance cost $3000 more than State Farm insurance costs. That’s a crazy leap in rate.
Credit History Rates by Company
Do you have a lot of credit card debt? Have you ever missed a payment? Usually, credit history also affects your auto insurance rate, but in Hawaii, it is illegal for insurance companies to inquire about a driver’s credit history.
That’s right! Even if you have poor credit history, your rate will not go up.
Driving Record Rates by Company
Ever been in an accident, gotten a speeding ticket, or been charged with a DUI? Guess what? If you answered yes to any of these questions, chances are good that your rate will increase — especially if you’ve gotten a DUI.
|Company||Clean Record||With 1 Speeding Violation||With 1 Accident||With 1 DUI|
With just one DUI on your record, your insurance rate can go up thousands of dollars. However, if you never get even so much as a speeding ticket, your rate will most likely be lower than the average person’s rate is.
It’s simple: if you’re a good driver, you’ll have a lower rate, and if you’re a reckless driver who doesn’t follow the rules of the road, your rate will skyrocket!
Number of Insurers in Hawaii
What’s the difference between foreign and domestic insurance?
|Domestic||Foreign||Total Number of Licensed Insurers|
Domestic insurance laws are formed under state laws, and foreign insurance laws are formed under any state in the U.S.
Hawaii State Laws
Driving through different states can sometimes be stressful, especially when you don’t know specific state laws for every state in America. But, Hawaii is an island, so unless you drive a car that floats, you’re not going to be “accidentally” breaking a driving law while crossing over state lines.
However, if you’re vacationing in Hawaii and you’ll most definitely be driving at some point, or you just live in Hawaii and are unsure about some of the driving and insurance laws, keep reading. This section is for you.
Please stay tuned as we discuss teen licensing laws, vehicle licensing laws, child protection laws, rules of the road, and more.
Auto Insurance Laws
How are auto insurance laws formed? According to the NAIC, prior approval for rate filings is needed and there is a 30-day waiting period. Commissioner may require insurers to submit new filings for any type of coverage when the commissioner has actuarially sound information that the rates are excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory.
All of this is done to make sure that insurers are first and foremost following state laws.
Hawaiian law requires every driver to carry at least minimum liability and PIP insurance.
Unless you’re an auto insurer, you don’t need to worry about how insurance laws are produced.
Unfortunately, the state of Hawaii has no laws about forcing auto insurance companies to pay for broken windshields, no matter what the cause. However, some companies may include this coverage in their comprehensive insurance plans. Learn more about Hawaii Windshield Insurance here.
Some states have what is called the SR22 insurance form. Like we discussed earlier, Hawaii has an SR21 instead of the SR22 which is essentially the same thing.
Drivers may have to have SR21 insurance if:
- You have been convicted of a DUI
- You have been given multiple moving violations
- You’ve been caught driving without insurance
According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, motorists may receive an SR22 Order of Security Requirement or Suspension notification for their involvement in an accident.
Even though the driver provided regular insurance or SR-22 (SR-21) at the time of the accident, the state still requires proof. Motorists must then have their insurance company submit the form to the state for verification.
Want to have a lower insurance rate? Of course, you do. Everyone would rather pay less for their insurance policy. The best way to have a low insurance rate is to keep a clean driving record. But even if you don’t have a clean record, there are other things you can do to keep your rate lower as well.
When you’re looking for a new policy or want to change the one you currently have, ask your insurance company if they have the following discounts:
- Student discount
- Homeowner’s discount
- Multi-car discount
- Anti-theft discount
Want to shop for the best rate right now? Enter your ZIP code in the box below to get started!
Automobile Insurance Fraud in Hawaii
What is auto insurance fraud and what does it specifically mean in the state of Hawaii?
In the Hawaii Revised Statutes section 431:2-403, auto insurance fraud can be committed in any of the following three ways:
- Intentionally or knowingly misrepresenting or concealing material facts, opinions, intentions, or laws in order to obtain (or attempt to obtain) coverage, benefits, recovery, or compensation
- Intentionally or knowingly aiding, agreeing, or attempting to aid, solicit, or conspire with any person who engages in any unlawful acts
- Intentionally or knowingly making, causing, or permitting to be presented, any false statements or claims on behalf of any person during an official proceeding
Insurance fraud is a serious crime in the state of Hawaii and can be punishable by fines of up to $25,000 or more.
Statute of Limitations
If you’re into watching crime shows, many times they will use the term “statute of limitations”. All this means is that there is a certain amount of time to pursue legal action against a crime that was committed against you.
When we’re talking about auto insurance and the statute of limitations, we mean that there is a certain amount of time drivers have to file a claim with their insurance provider.
In the state of Hawaii, drivers have two years to file a claim for both personal injury and property damage which resulted from an accident.
So what does this mean for you? It’s simple! Don’t wait more than two years to file a claim unless you want to get stuck paying for damages when your insurance company will most likely cover the costs.
Comparative Negligence Law
As of 2017, the Comparative Negligence Law states that contributory negligence shall not bar recovery in any action by any person or the personâs legal representative to recover damages for negligence resulting in death or in injury to person or property.
If such negligence was not greater than the negligence of the person or in the case of more than one person, the aggregate negligence of such persons against whom recovery is sought, but any damages allowed shall be diminished in proportion to the amount of negligence attributable to the person for whose injury, damage or death recovery is made.
Vehicle Licensing Laws
What exactly is a REAL ID?
If you don’t have this new ID, don’t worry! You can use your current ID in Hawaii until 2020.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Hawaii
It is against the law to drive without insurance in Hawaii, but if you do get caught driving without insurance, here are some penalties to be aware of.
|Number of Offense||Penalty|
|1st Offense||Fine: $500 fine or community service granted by judge. Either license suspension for three months or a required nonrefundable insurance policy in force for six months|
|2nd Offense||Fine: $1500 minimum fine within five years; either license suspension for one year or a required non-refundable insurance policy in force for six months|
By the looks of this table above, the judge handling your case could give you fines, jail time, community service and license suspension if you break the law and drive without auto insurance.
Teen Driver Laws
To get a learner’s license in the state of Hawaii, you must be at least 15 years and 6 months old. To get a driver’s license or a restricted driver’s license, Hawaii drivers must meet the minimum requirements below.
|Requirements for Getting a License in Hawaii||Age/Hours|
|Mandatory Holding Period||6 months|
|Minimum Supervised Driving Time||50 hours, 10 of which must be at night|
Restrictions for young drivers are set in place for a reason. Don’t break the law and be out past curfew. It could result in license suspension. The minimum age for which the following restrictions can be lifted is 17 years old. If you are 17, you need to drive for 6 months with these restrictions before they can be lifted.
|Restrictions for Restricted Licenses in Hawaii||Details|
|Nighttime restrictions||11 p.m.-5 a.m.|
|Passenger restrictions (family members excepted unless noted otherwise)||no more than 1 passenger younger than 18 (household members excepted)|
Older Driver License Renewal Procedures
In Hawaii, drivers over the age of 72 must renew their license every two years.
Proof of adequate vision for older drivers (and all drivers) is required at every renewal and drivers may renew their license by mail or online, but must appear in person at the DMV at least once every 16 years.
If you’re new to the state of Hawaii or you are thinking about moving there, you are going to need to Hawaii auto insurance.
The requirements for the minimum amount of auto insurance are as follows:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
- Basic Personal Injury Protection: $10,000
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $10,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
When you are applying for a new Hawaii driver’s license, you will need to provide proof of name and date of birth, proof of social security number, proof of residency and legal presence.
License Renewal Procedures
If you are under the age of 72, Hawaiians must renew their license every eight years. However, you don’t always have to renew your license in person.
Hawaii drivers may renew their license online or by mail, but must appear in person at the Hawaii Licensing office at least every 16 years.
Proof of adequate vision is required at every renewal, so make sure you take a trip to the doctor to get your eyes checked before you stand in line and wait for hours to renew your license just to get turned away for forgetting something.
Negligent Operator Treatment System
According to Hawaii Revised Statute 291-2, any person driving a motor vehicle or riding an animal in a manner that displays recklessness to the degree of endangering the well-being of other persons or their property is deemed to be guilty of reckless driving.
Reckless driving is classified as a misdemeanor and you could be given jail time of up to 30 days and receive a fine of over $1000 or more.
You could receive as many as six points for reckless driving in the state of Hawaii.
Remember, if you rack up points on your driving record, your insurance company is sure to hike up your rates.
Hawaii Rules of the Road
If you don’t know the rules of the road, how do you expect to avoid getting a traffic violation? We can’t express enough how important it is to be aware of specific state laws when it comes to driving. Continue reading to learn more about rules of the road in the beautiful state of Hawaii.
Fault vs. No-Fault
There are only 12 states in the U.S. that are considered to be no-fault states, and Hawaii is one of them.
Earlier, we discussed that living in a no-fault car accident state means that no matter if you caused an accident or someone else did, you are still responsible for filing a claim with your auto insurance company if you want them to cover the damages done to your vehicle that resulted from that accident.
If you don’t have enough coverage or not the right kind of coverage, you may end up paying for these costs out of pocket.
Seat Belt and Car Seat Laws
Click it or ticket!
It shouldn’t be that hard to follow the Hawaii’s laws about wearing a seat belt — after all, it could save your life.
|Seat Belt Laws in Hawaii||Details|
|Effective Since||December 16, 1985|
|Primary Enforcement||yes; effective 12/16/85|
|Age/Seats Applicable||8+ years in all seats|
|1st Offense Max Fine||$45|
Keep your child safe by making sure they are in the correct car seat based on their age, height, and weight according to child safety seat laws in Hawaii.
|Type of Car Seat Required||Age|
|Child Restraint||3 years and younger in a child restraint|
|Child Booster Seat||4 years through 7 years must be in a child restraint or booster seat|
|Adult Belt Permissible||4 through 7 years who are taller than 4'9" 4 through 7 years who are at least 40 pounds seated in a rear seat where if there are no available lap/shoulder belts, may be restrained by a lap belt|
If you violate a car seat law by not having your child in the right seat, you are automatically given a $100 fine no questions asked.
Also, please be aware that is also against the law to ride in the cargo area of a pickup truck in the state of Hawaii.
Insurance will not cover you if:
- people 13 and older if there are no available seats in the cab and the side racks and tailgate are securely closed, and the passengers are seated on the floor
- also exempts life-threatening emergencies
- employees on duty
Keep Right and Move Over Laws
Ever heard of something called a keep right and move over law? According to law 291C-41, drivers are required to keep right if they are driving slower than the average speed of traffic around them.
However, driving more than 5 mph under in left lane prohibited in Honolulu ROH 15-7.4. According to AAA, state law also requires drivers approaching stationary emergency vehicles displaying flashing lights, including tow trucks, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so (and if possible move two lanes over), and slow to a speed that is safe, reasonable, and prudent.
Don’t get stuck paying for a speed limit when the whole situation could have been averted if you had only known what the speed limit was in the first place.
Remember that speed limits can be different on different roads.
|Type of Roadway||Speed Limit|
|Rural Interstates||60 mph|
|Urban Interstates||60 mph|
|Other Limited Access Roads||55 mph|
|Other Roads||45 mph|
These are the maximum posted speed limits — so if you drive even one mph over these numbers, you are breaking the law and are subject to speeding tickets.
What is ridesharing?
Have you ever called a taxi, ordered an Uber, or climbed in the back of a Lyft car? These are all ridesharing services, and every Uber, Lyft, or taxi driver must have what is called ridesharing insurance.
Right now, Hawaii drivers must have insurance with Allstate if they need ridesharing insurance.
Automation on the Road
According to the IIHS, automation is defined as the use of a machine or technology to perform a task or function that was previously carried out by a human.
In driving, automation involves using radar, camera and other sensors to gather information about a vehicle’s surroundings, which is then used by computer programs to perform parts or all of the driving tasks on a sustained basis.
Currently, laws on automation have not been addressed in the state of Hawaii. However, types of automation driving on public roads is being tested.
Safety Laws in Hawaii
We think everyone would agree that knowledge is power and when you know and understand safety laws in any state you’re driving in, you are less likely to get into an accident.
It’s good to know about a law, better to understand it, and imperative to know when your insurance covers something and when it doesn’t. Keep reading for more info on Hawaiian safety laws.
It’s not a joke to drink and drive. Pay close attention to what can happen if you make the poor choice to break the law and drink and drive.
|Name for Offense||Operating While Intoxicated (OWI)|
|High BAC Limit||0.15|
|Criminal Status||1st class C misdemeanor, 1st High BAC class A misdemeanor; subsequent convictions within 5 years class D felony|
|Look Back Period||5 years|
Penalties for drinking while driving increase after the first offense is committed.
|Number of DUI Offense||ALS or Revocation||Imprisonment||Fine||Other|
|First Offense||1 year||48 hours-5 days||$150-$1000 +$25 to neurotrama special fund +$25 to trauma system special fund if court ordered||14 hour min rehab program; may require 72 hours community service; IID for 1 year|
|Second Offense||2nd offense in 5 years: 18 months-2 years||min 240 community service hours OR 5-30 with 48 consecutive hours||$500-$1500+$25 to neurotrama special fund+$50 to trauma system fund if court ordered; additional $500 if child in vehicle||abuse and education program required; IID during revocation period|
|Third Offense||in 5 years of prior two convictions, 2 year revocation||10-30 days, 48 hours served consecutively||$500-$2500+$25 to neurotrama special fund+$50 to trauma system fund if court ordered; additional $500 if child in vehicle||240 min community service; abuse and education program required, IID required during revocation period|
Drinking and driving can cost you money, time, imprisonment, and worst of all, your life or someone else’s life and a lifetime filled with guilt. Don’t drink and drive. It’s the law.
Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws
In many states, the use of marijuana is against the law. Hawaii currently does not have any state-specific law against the use of marijuana while driving, but drivers can get pulled over for impaired driving of any kind.
This offense may cost you fines and jail time and will cause your insurance rate to go through the roof.
Distracted Driving Laws
The use of technology has become a phenomenon and such a helpful tool – especially when it comes to communicating with a cell phone.
Talking on a hand-held cellphone while driving is banned in 18 states, and the District of Columbia. Hawaii is one of those states. But, not only is it illegal to talk on your cell phone while driving, it is illegal to text and even hold your cell phone while driving.
Recent studies show that texting and driving can be worse than drunk driving, so put your phone down while driving — that text can wait and it certainly isn’t worth someone’s life or your own.
Hawaii has primary enforcement which means if an officer of the law suspects you to be talking or texting on a hand-held cell phone, he or she has every right to pull you over.
Driving in Hawaii
Now that we’ve covered the rules of the road in Hawaii, it’s time to discuss some of the risks of the road. If you’re prepared and have all of the facts when driving on the road, your risk of getting into a car accident, falling victim to vehicle theft, and getting stuck in traffic go down significantly.
In this section, we will talk about topics like vehicle theft, traffic fatalities, teen drinking and driving, and more. Buckle up while we knock out this section on driving in Hawaii and risks of the road.
Vehicle Theft in Hawaii
Did you know thieves look for a victim with a certain kind of car when they are searching for a vehicle to steal? Below is a list of the top ten most stolen vehicles in Hawaii. Is your car on this list?
|Vehicle Make/Model||Year of Vehicle||Number of Thefts|
|Ford Pickup (Full Size)||2006||154|
|Dodge Pickup (Full Size)||2001||37|
According to this list, Honda Civics are the most stolen car in Hawaii.
Many states have many large cities — some safe, some a little riskier. But Hawaii only had one city on the 2016 FBI report on vehicle theft by city. Any guesses which one it is?
In 2016, Honolulu, Hawaii 4,346 vehicles stolen.
Road Fatalities in Hawaii
Factors like geographical locations, risky behaviors, drugs, and vehicle type all play a role when it comes to road fatalities. In this section, we will talk about where accidents are most likely to occur, how they are likely to occur and why they occur.
Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition and Light Condition
Below is a table showing how many fatal crashes occurred during different weather conditions.
|Weather Condition||Daylight||Dark, but Lighted||Dark||Dawn or Dusk||Other / Unknown||Total|
Fatalities (All Crashes) by County
We know that the weather plays a role in fatal crashes, but some counties are more accident prone than others.
Some of those numbers are zero! You read that right – there were zero fatalities in Kalawao County from 2013-2017.
Traffic Fatalities: Rural vs. Urban
It would seem that more cars on the road equal more accidents, which equals more traffic fatalities. But, usually, there are more fatalities that happen in the country than in the city. With the exception of 2008, there are more fatalities in the urban areas of Hawaii than in rural areas.
Rural vs. Urban
Fatalities by Person Type
This list below shows fatalities by person type.
|Fatalities by Person Type||2013||2014||2015||2016||2017|
|Light Truck - Pickup||12||15||9||8||10|
|Light Truck - Utility||9||7||7||7||12|
|Light Truck - Van||0||0||1||3||3|
|Light Truck - Other||0||0||0||5||0|
|Bicyclist and Other Cyclist||2||4||2||0||6|
Fatalities by Crash Type
|Total Fatalities (All Crashes)||102||95||93||120||107|
|Involving a Large Truck||7||4||5||6||9|
|Involving a Rollover||19||10||14||16||26|
|Involving a Roadway Departure||54||44||42||65||60|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||20||30||26||31||30|
Five=Year Trend For The Top Five Counties in 2017 in Hawaii
This table shows how many fatalities happened per year from 2013-2017.
Fatalities Involving Speeding by County
Speeding is clearly a major cause of accidents resulting in death.
Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver (BAC = .08+) by County
No matter how many laws are put into place, the sad fact is that crashes still happen because of drunk driving.
Below are some statistics of crashes and deaths that occurred because of an alcohol-impaired driver.
Teen Drinking and Driving
Hawaii ranks 28th in the U.S. for under-18 drinking and driving arrests. In 2018, there were 23 people arrested under the age of 18 for drinking and driving.
Hawaii’s average for under 21 alcohol-impaired fatalities per 100k population was above the 1.2 national average at 1.4 deaths for every 100,000 people.
EMS Response Time
EMS response time is crucial when it comes to saving a life. Arriving just seconds too late could often mean the difference between life and death.
|Crash Location||Time Of Crash To EMS Notification (Minutes)||EMS Notification to EMS Arrival (Minutes)||EMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital Arrival (Minutes)||Time of Crash to Hospital Arrival (Minutes)||Total Fatal Crashes|
Keep reading to learn about Hawaii’s average car ownership, form of transportation, and commute time against the national average.
The largest share of households in Hawaii have two cars, followed by one car.
Drivers in Hawaii have a longer average commute time (25.8 minutes) than other drivers in the United States.
Like many other states, the most common method of travel is to drive alone. Thirteen percent of Hawaiian drivers carpool and 67 percent said they drive alone.
Traffic Congestion in Hawaii
According to Inrix, Honolulu is the 111th most traffic-congested city in the world.
|City||2018 World Rank (2017)||Hours Lost in Congestion||Cost of Congestion (per driver)|
Insurance rates are like snowflakes – every single one is unique. Now that you have all the facts about auto insurance and rates, it’s time to start shopping around for the perfect rate and plan that fit your lifestyle.
To start comparing rates right now, just enter your ZIP code in the box below.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.